Vid of Perspectives at Art City!
skip
Home » People » penston » sleeping mary » Reviews

Reviews for "sleeping mary"

sleeping mary
by penston
Recommends (1)
Mon, Mar 3, 2008 @ 12:12 PM
 
duckett
.
permalink   Mon, Mar 3, 2008 @ 3:42 PM
I love the combo of the samples, and the offset beat and bassline work well too; maybe it was intentional, but there just seems to be an element missing- I couldn’t tell you exactly what, but some sort of harmonic or dynamic change somewhere would’ve made this truly satisying. Again, I love the sample-combo, though…
fourstones
.
permalink   Mon, Mar 3, 2008 @ 6:30 PM
there is something in this mix but between the key dissonance stuff, rhytmical parts out of sync and popping bass (?) I couldn’t connect with this mix… sry.
shagrugge
.
permalink   Mon, Mar 3, 2008 @ 8:42 PM
the hymn and Hersh’s voice work well together but the bass guitar isn’t doing it for me.

The big question is after uploading 109 remixes…who will get Penston’s first ever review on ccmixter?
 
.
permalink   s.c.mixer Tue, Mar 4, 2008 @ 5:43 PM
Interesting, never noticed that… 173 reviews received and none left?!

Maybe the admins should consider some balancing system. I know that it is not mandatory to review the site material, but this big “unbalance” does not seem fair and (in my opinion) does not serve the community purpose.
 
.
permalink   Mahadin Mon, Mar 10, 2008 @ 7:58 AM
Quote: s.c.mixerInteresting, never noticed that… 173 reviews received and none left?!

Maybe the admins should consider some balancing system. I know that it is not mandatory to review the site material, but this big “unbalance” does not seem fair and (in my opinion) does not serve the community purpose.


Well said. I share your view on the “review-balance” issue (although I’m not a community member for all too long)
 
.
permalink   oldDog Fri, Mar 14, 2008 @ 7:12 AM
: )
I left a couple of reviews of his mixes a while back, but I’m afraid when I noticed his “no reviews” policy I stopped bothering!
 
.
permalink   shagrugge Fri, Mar 14, 2008 @ 8:28 AM
Penston is like Source Magazine before it started giving out 5 mic ratings…one day it will happen. After that they will flow like wildfire.
 
.
permalink   oldDog Fri, Mar 14, 2008 @ 8:48 AM
Quote: shagruggeone day it will happen

yes, and there really WERE weapons of mass destruction… ;)
ditto ditto
.
permalink   Wed, Mar 5, 2008 @ 8:57 AM
Very original idea..even if it’s not always in a perfect harmony, the result is surprising..
radiotimes
.
permalink   Wed, Mar 5, 2008 @ 6:16 PM
This is a really good idea and the sounds are very nice but as previously stated the syncing of the parts is not right.

Maybe this was your intention but for me its too distracting and spoils the work.

Putting all that aside I like it .