inTENtions Remix Event
skip
Home » People » mykleanthony » Crazy Love » Reviews

Reviews for "Crazy Love"

Crazy Love
by mykleanthony
Recommends (12)
Thu, Sep 24, 2009 @ 7:11 AM

Uses samples from:

 
Songboy3
.
permalink   Thu, Sep 24, 2009 @ 7:27 AM
Wow.

I always get get blown away by the different permutations of the songs I’ve uploaded to CCMixter. This does NOT dissapoint!!! I love the bigness of the production. For the last few years, I’ve been trying to find a balance between being a musician, working an 8-hour-a-day job and being a good father to my daughters & a good mate to my Lady on the home front. It’s hard, people! But I took something to heart that Loveshadow told me when I met him and Fourstones & his wife in NY this summer. Loveshadow said ‘Frank, you have a gift. I know you have a family & that’s the most important thing but never stop using the gift you have.’ I’ve kept that to heart even though I haven’t been able to create like I’d like to. It’s maddening at times to have ideas but no time (or so it seems!) But music & statements like this edify me and I’m going keep on making music the best way I know how. Thanks, Myke! And believe it when I say that I’m gonna meet up with you, Loveshadow and whomever else in England sometime next year!
 
.
permalink   mykleanthony Thu, Sep 24, 2009 @ 7:36 AM
Frank, It’s always from the heart with me. I never ever say things that I don’t mean and I keep it real 100% of the time. You are the one and if you need, I’m here. I’m due to be in the states in February. Will reach out once I get there. Be blessed my man.

Peace! ;)-
 
.
permalink   Songboy3 Thu, Sep 24, 2009 @ 7:41 AM
Thank you, sir! February it is, mon ami!
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Fri, Sep 25, 2009 @ 9:33 AM
Yea thats me , the Reverend Loveshadow raising up all the weary vocalists of the world. Come unto my church and your accapella will be saved my child.

Now pass wind, the weed or the bucket :-)
 
.
permalink   Songboy3 Fri, Sep 25, 2009 @ 9:40 AM
Preach on, Reverend! PREACH ON!
 
.
permalink   mykleanthony Fri, Sep 25, 2009 @ 1:30 PM
Amen!!!
Carosone
.
permalink   Thu, Sep 24, 2009 @ 1:52 PM
I feel shy at popping in, while you make private conversations, but just wanted to write that this sound is the perfect match for Frankie’s voice, and it is also very typical from mike, so in the end you MUST meet and do more songs together, since it does fit.
 
.
permalink   mykleanthony Thu, Sep 24, 2009 @ 2:02 PM
Thank You Mr. C and you can pop in any ol’e time.

Peace! ;)-
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Thu, Sep 24, 2009 @ 2:25 PM
This is simply a dazzling track, Mykle. I love it. xxxx
 
.
permalink   mykleanthony Fri, Sep 25, 2009 @ 1:30 PM
Thanks CB, As always it is good to know you are listening.

Peace! ;)-
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Fri, Sep 25, 2009 @ 9:29 AM
When you put something up its like Lonnie Liston, Earth Wind & Fire, Alphonse Mouzon, or Chick Corea stopped by for a coffee and dropped a few things on it.

You are in certain pocket but i dont mind a bit :-)
 
.
permalink   mykleanthony Fri, Sep 25, 2009 @ 1:34 PM
I know, but I can only play it like I hear it. I do try to fall into different bags but I am comfortable with what I know but i am happy to be in the company of whom you’ve placed me in. (smile) Thanks LS.

Peace! ;)-
SackJo22
.
permalink   Fri, Sep 25, 2009 @ 11:03 AM
OOOOO! This is some sweet, fine smooth groove and croon! You boys are great together.
 
.
permalink   mykleanthony Fri, Sep 25, 2009 @ 1:35 PM
Thanks SJ.
TheJoe
.
permalink   Mon, Sep 28, 2009 @ 1:36 PM
I am a little late for a review, had a listen to it a few days ago and now..
First thing: thi is so damned good, brings me back in the days of Gap band, Midnight Star, Zapp, etc. all the great Funk&soul bands of the 80s/90s. You really captured the feel and the spirit of this time, which is obviously no surprise regarding your influences and cv ;-).

But one thing I wanted to mention though (not meant as a critic, but as a thing I think about while listeneing to some classics).

The horn section is great when it plays the short theme or the swells. It_s for my taste abit too much at some points, or I could imagine it with more reverb, especially there where you play this moog solo sound. It_s a lot going on there at the same time.

ah well, but I like soo much though, that_s for sure!

Great track!
 
.
permalink   mykleanthony Tue, Sep 29, 2009 @ 3:21 PM
Yeah Joe, I feel ya on that. I thought it was a bit busy in the chorus but I was worried that I’d destroy the vibe of the piece if I took it away. I thought if I’d found a balance between what was happening musically in the chorus with the vocal then that would reduce the business of it. Comment is duely noted my friend and thanks for the props.

Peace! ;)-
Chuck Berglund
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 30, 2009 @ 2:06 AM
I hear Ya! 2nd that Emotion!..and a download to bike groove with…talk about summer breeze!..Bravo
 
.
permalink   mykleanthony Wed, Sep 30, 2009 @ 2:27 PM
Hey Chuck, Keep on bikin baby!! (smile) Glad your listening. Thanks for the props.

Peace! ;)-
Javolenus
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 30, 2009 @ 4:17 AM
Extremely and completely brilliant. The whole sound is amazing and textures bright and interesting. It’s got real life. I’m very impressed - it’s just great.
 
.
permalink   mykleanthony Wed, Sep 30, 2009 @ 2:44 PM
Thanks Dude! You New? If not, you are to me….. Welcome and thanks for the props!

Peace! ;)-