Temperate Transitions Secret Mixter
skip
Home » People » Kara Square » Melt Away » Reviews

Reviews for "Melt Away"

Melt Away
by Kara Square
Recommends (27)
Fri, Jul 11, 2014 @ 1:28 PM

Samples are used in:

 
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 11, 2014 @ 1:31 PM
Wow… that’s really something. Tracy Chapman springs to mind… like the gentle dynamics you sing it with.

I sure hope there’s a pella coming for that. Too good not to be remixed.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Fri, Jul 11, 2014 @ 2:01 PM
Thank you so much. I’m so happy you like it. What a kind comparison! And yess… of course. :)
Snowflake
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 11, 2014 @ 2:15 PM
i love the warmth and depth of your vocal. this is a deeply emotive track. thank you for sharing this with us.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sat, Jul 12, 2014 @ 5:02 AM
Thank you, snowflake! It was cathartic to sing. Thanks for listening.
Javolenus
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 11, 2014 @ 2:15 PM
That’s really cool — perfect vocal & lyrical interpretation of the musical sentiment.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sat, Jul 12, 2014 @ 5:03 AM
Thank you kindly. Your work with Admiral was instantly inspiring… this is one of those that I couldn’t not do. :)
copperhead
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 11, 2014 @ 6:03 PM
Just superb!It’s reminds me of the supergroups from the 70’s doing a tripy laid back tune that I always looked forward to on the album.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sat, Jul 12, 2014 @ 5:45 AM
Hey, thanks Cop! That’s a really kind description. I’m glad you like!
Stefan Kartenberg
.
permalink   Sat, Jul 12, 2014 @ 1:29 AM
coooool!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sat, Jul 12, 2014 @ 5:57 AM
Thank you, Stefan!
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Sat, Jul 12, 2014 @ 8:58 AM
What a fabulous atmosphere you, Javolenus and The Admiral create together - so soulful and plaintive. I agree with Emily that your voice has real richness and depth. It’s strong and distinctive too - and your interpretation on this is perfect for the sadness of the lyrics. Brilliant, Kara.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Jul 13, 2014 @ 7:22 AM
Thank you, Ciggi. Wanna know why you and Emily’s comments on my voice are extra kind? I actually didn’t do any pitch correction at all on this one. I did do 3 takes and pick the best parts, but no Melodyne. :) So thank you again!
Speck
.
permalink   Sat, Jul 12, 2014 @ 9:38 AM
Wow, that’s pretty great. Straight from (and to) the heart.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Jul 13, 2014 @ 7:23 AM
Thank you, Speck. Truly.
Quarkstar
.
permalink   Sat, Jul 12, 2014 @ 11:22 AM
Gorgeous, subtle, letting the music breathe and deeply affecting.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Jul 13, 2014 @ 7:24 AM
Really kind… thank you, Quarkstar.
VickyDan
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 13, 2014 @ 12:27 AM
I could provide many comparatives, but your personality and your talent are the only ones I remember here… Very good choice of supports, with a lot of complicity.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Jul 13, 2014 @ 7:25 AM
That’s really kind, VickyDan. Thank you so much.
debbizo
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 13, 2014 @ 6:01 AM
Soulful and engaging! Well done Kara
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Jul 13, 2014 @ 7:25 AM
Thank you, Deb!! I really appreciate it.
Doxent Zsigmond
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 13, 2014 @ 9:26 AM
Really cool. Like Alison Moyet meets Mark Knopfler.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Jul 14, 2014 @ 8:10 AM
Cool comparison. Thank you, Dox.
unreal_dm
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 13, 2014 @ 9:51 AM
Hauntingly beautiful
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Jul 14, 2014 @ 8:11 AM
Thank you so much.
ike_poet
.
permalink   Mon, Jul 14, 2014 @ 7:55 AM
Kara, again a fantastic use of your beautiful voice. I love the dissonance and mood of the piece. The words and vocals suit the music amazingly.
ike_poet
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Jul 14, 2014 @ 8:16 AM
Thank you, Ike! So kind. When I heard Admiral and Jav’s piece, the words just came… so I shut my eyes and sang. :)
 
.
permalink   ike_poet Mon, Jul 14, 2014 @ 4:05 PM
the true heart of a poet…
Shelflife
.
permalink   Mon, Jul 14, 2014 @ 7:36 PM
This is really good and the pitchiness adds to the songs character
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Tue, Jul 15, 2014 @ 6:30 AM
Thank you. And I’m really glad you feel that way. I was hoping others would agree… this is why I did no pitch correction (a very rare thing for me).
SackJo22
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 16, 2014 @ 9:45 AM
I have melted.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Wed, Jul 16, 2014 @ 9:46 AM
… .plaintive, tender from the raw, and as authentic as it gets. Beautiful work Kara.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Thu, Jul 17, 2014 @ 6:48 AM
Thank you so much, Susan.
Robert Warrington
.
permalink   Sun, Aug 3, 2014 @ 7:33 PM
Dear Madam, I wish to complain about the consistently high standard of your work. As a firm believer in the healing power of mediocrity, I’m frankly appalled. Why must you persist in these vulgar displays of brilliance? Please consider putting smaller quantities of talent into your future productions.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Fri, Aug 8, 2014 @ 9:59 AM
I’m not the complaint department.” ;)

(Thanks for the smile and laugh.)