Waiting Remix Event
skip
Home » People » Kara Square » Carnival » Reviews

Reviews for "Carnival"

Carnival
by Kara Square
Recommends (37)
Sun, Jun 17, 2012 @ 4:55 AM
 
Mana Junkie
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 17, 2012 @ 5:16 AM
I’ve been Carnival’d! Pretty slick groove here KS. A very dark and twisted tale of something weird that is going on at the carnival. ;)
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Jun 17, 2012 @ 5:40 AM
Thank ya’, Mana! Yeah… definitely approach that carnival acutely alert and with trepidation.
TheDICE
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 17, 2012 @ 5:20 AM
really great! This song is very catchy, with your nice vocals. The screams are great, I did the “Sign of the horns” with my hand at the last scream :) The happy part fits perfectly with the scream parts, and it’s a great contrast!! Grats Kara

ps: i hope you paste the lyrics if you can, i want understand your story in the song ^^ must be crazy :)
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Jun 17, 2012 @ 5:42 AM
Sweet- “Sign of the horns.” :D I don’t think I’ve ever made a song before that would create that reaction. Yes- the lyrics. They’re actually quite boring… just an innocent little carnival… ;) (I’ll post them later… gotta run now…)
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Sun, Jun 17, 2012 @ 6:36 AM
Thanks Kara, i dig all your work :)
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Jun 17, 2012 @ 5:47 PM
The words are up- sorry for the HUGE delay!
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Mon, Jun 18, 2012 @ 7:06 AM
Thank you Kara!!!
This is is not boring (in my humble opinion). I liked your story and your rhymes, thanks again.
annabloom
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 17, 2012 @ 5:24 AM
carnival, when the kids are in bed and the adults are the kids
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Jun 17, 2012 @ 6:42 PM
Indeed. Thanks for listening, annabloom!
debbizo
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 17, 2012 @ 5:33 AM
You’re one of a kind Kara! Very catchy and definitely humourous in true Kara style.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Jun 17, 2012 @ 6:44 PM
Thank ya’, Deb! The catchiness actually drove me a wee bit crazy while mixing. :) Glad you get my humor!
Speck
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 17, 2012 @ 5:35 AM
That’s a good blend, contrast intact. Brash and colorful.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Jun 17, 2012 @ 6:44 PM
Ha! Brash- totally. Thanks, Speck.
reusenoise
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 17, 2012 @ 5:56 AM
sick and fun
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Jun 17, 2012 @ 6:45 PM
Right on. Thanks!
duckett
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 17, 2012 @ 7:05 AM
You made coffee come out of my nose at that first deep “CAR-NA-VUL”!
I want to rent one of those sound-system-on-a-flatbed trucks and treat the city to this, block by block.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Jun 17, 2012 @ 6:46 PM
HA! Thanks, duckett! Hope your nose didn’t get burned!
Abstract Audio
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 17, 2012 @ 7:19 AM
As always a joy to listen Lots of humor in there like everyone else I loved the carnaval who’s was that?
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Jun 17, 2012 @ 6:47 PM
Thanks, AA! That deep ‘carnival’ was me! :D As well as the screaming… my throat was sore for days!
 
.
permalink   Abstract Audio Mon, Jun 18, 2012 @ 1:52 AM
Whut you???? Without any pitch alteration? I’ll have to hear more of that!!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Jun 18, 2012 @ 7:40 AM
Yup, no pitch alteration. I was just being silly, but I’ll keep it in mind for future oddities! :D
 
.
permalink   short hopper Mon, Jun 18, 2012 @ 6:05 PM
Any chance you might upload the vocal stem for this? Think I could use those screams. They’re awesome!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Tue, Jun 19, 2012 @ 10:02 AM
You got it. I might not get them up until Thursday, though. I’ll send you a message when I do. (Thanks!)
 
.
permalink   short hopper Thu, Jun 21, 2012 @ 2:14 PM
Yeah! Much appreciated.
copperhead
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 17, 2012 @ 8:42 AM
Just amazing work Kara and so catchy. Loved the elements you added to get the full effect.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Jun 17, 2012 @ 6:48 PM
Thank ya’, Cop! I appreciate it.
DJStupid
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 17, 2012 @ 1:49 PM
Nice work I love it…
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Jun 17, 2012 @ 6:52 PM
AWESOME! I’m so glad (and relieved!).
Snowflake
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 17, 2012 @ 4:11 PM
incredible incorporation of DJStupid’s source — thematic and oh so very creative. your production and arrangement are amazing! you are an incredibly talented artist Kara. i’m not worthy!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sun, Jun 17, 2012 @ 7:18 PM
I apologize, but I must disagree… You are MOST CERTAINLY mega-town worthy to the MAX! Now, if you were making a Wayne’s World reference, I’ll bow down with ya’ and we’ll say it to all these incredible ccMIXTER-ERS! YAHH??? Flippin’ amazing Secret Mixter. I’ll have a great time continuing my listening tomorrow at my dreaded day job. Thanks for listening, Em. I’m really, really glad you get me.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Jun 17, 2012 @ 7:22 PM
isn’t it amazing, the connection that happens through music? all day i’ve been in awe at the depth of our communication through the universal language. we are blessed!!! xxx
Down With Ben
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 17, 2012 @ 8:43 PM
Fantastic!! This definitely has a fun, happy carnival groove to it. I love your scream as you go through spook house. Not to mention your skillful cohesion of all those samples! And did I hear a touch of your own ukelele? You’re amazing.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Jun 18, 2012 @ 9:24 AM
I love your scream as you go through spook house.
I hadn’t thought of it like that! Awesome perspective… I just thought I was screaming!

Yup, I’ve become a ukulele playin’ fiend. Seriously. Can’t put it down! (I’m actually working on a solo album right now consisting exclusively of ukulele love songs.)

Thank you, Ben!!!
Joel Frijters
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 18, 2012 @ 6:20 AM
I think I have finally stumbled upon the truth… Kara you are a Ukelele-Playing-Carnival-Attending Superhero!!! To borrow a phrase from a modern day sage… Kara, I Heart Your Brain!
Cheers!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Jun 18, 2012 @ 10:07 AM
Awwww shucks! Thank you for your kindness, KungFu! The brain-hearting is mutual!
AIR_LOMEG
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 18, 2012 @ 7:02 AM
“And so… here you have a metal-folk-screamo-noise-rock fusion!” You’re Hilarious Square Kara! It’s very similar to norwegian black metal spiced up with some folk doom ukulele trash, only different. Love, b.k.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Jun 18, 2012 @ 10:31 AM
folk doom ukulele trash

I wish I had thought of that description! You, too, are hilarious, my friend. Thanks for listening, b.k.!
SackJo22
.
permalink   Wed, Jun 20, 2012 @ 12:10 PM
Wacky! Wonderful! Warped! So ready for the visuals! Oh my gosh — laugh out loud delight at all the fun things you did with your voice! I can smell the sticky sweetness of the cotton candy and feel the sensory overload of being there! Bravo, my dear! Bravo!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Wed, Jun 20, 2012 @ 2:11 PM
A twisted music video would definitely be fun! Thank you for your kind, supportive review. I appreciate your ear-time! :)
Steven M Bryant
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 30, 2012 @ 8:39 AM
lol…I loved it!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Thu, Jul 5, 2012 @ 6:25 AM
You’re too kind, but thank you!
sLow_starteR
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 6, 2012 @ 8:19 PM
Very concept albumy (i guess that isn’t a word!!) I could really hear this as like a Sgt. Pepper-esque/ Magical Mystery Tour opening & closing theme on a collection of songs…fun stuff—really great!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Tue, Jul 10, 2012 @ 11:58 AM
Well, that’s a flattering comparison… Thanks for listening and for the kind feedback!