Rooted Rising Secret Mixter
skip

Reviews for "Where Do We Go (Simplicity Mix)"

Where Do We Go (Simplicity Mix)
by gurdonark
Recommends (11)
Sun, Apr 18, 2021 @ 3:17 AM

Uses samples from:

 
MalreDeszik
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 18, 2021 @ 4:04 AM
Whoa trash before spoken with strange sound why not 😘✌
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sun, Apr 18, 2021 @ 4:59 AM
Thanks for listening and reviewing.
Calling Sister Midnight
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 18, 2021 @ 8:42 AM
Wow, suck a naked simplicity really exposes the rawness of the vocals. Thanks for this. I’m sure you know the harmonica has become quite a controversial instrument with the trending of hashtags like #stoptheharm This track gives me a potent weapon in my quest to normalize simplicity and reclaim the harmonica as an instrument of simplicity. Fabulous :)
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sun, Apr 18, 2021 @ 9:08 AM
The vocal seemed to say so much on its own that I felt something minimal would show it off. My try doesn’t quite work—needs more samples and perhaps more conventional music— but it was a fun idea. The vocal is a really good ‘pella.

I first came to appreciate harmonicas when I saw Greg “Fingers” Taylor play one as a member of Memphis’ Larry Raspberry and the High Steppers. In my daydream, a harmonica would be a great ambient music device, but in my practice, I have not made that happen.
Snowflake
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 18, 2021 @ 11:28 AM
i really enjoyed reading the details of your process, learning more about your handheld field recordings and the variance you’ve taken in your approach on this mix. i find it quite captivating and can see this piece in a scene in a film because the imagery is quite powerful. lovely.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Sun, Apr 18, 2021 @ 12:48 PM
Thank you for listening and reviewing. I appreciate the kind words. Next time I will see if I can start from my idea, and take it a bit further.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 18, 2021 @ 2:40 PM
You succeeded in your stated intention of highlighting the vocal through selective sonic accompaniment. It makes me happy to see/hear you today. I love how you make and share things. Bravo!
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Wed, Apr 21, 2021 @ 5:12 AM
Thank you! I enjoyed participating in Secret Mixter.
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 18, 2021 @ 4:09 PM
I know this vocal well having mixed it in 2010.

It was intimidating for me back then to create something that matched her rich tone. Should have done this and saved myself the heartache. :)

Something’s just don’t need adding a lot too
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Wed, Apr 21, 2021 @ 5:12 AM
You’ve have done it well, headache or no! :)
Radioontheshelf
.
permalink   Mon, Apr 19, 2021 @ 10:05 AM
With so much software available it is easy to build a library of sounds that can feel intimidating. The temptation to keep adding is always there. Here your additions work so well with this wonderful vocal and prove a judicial pruning of the urge to keep adding can yield fabulous results
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Wed, Apr 21, 2021 @ 5:13 AM
Thanks for your kind review!
Kara Square
.
permalink   Mon, Apr 19, 2021 @ 10:08 AM
I like your restrictive approach. In the simplicity, you shine a spotlight on CSM’s powerful and captivating vocals. Your sounds add a delicateness… a bit of focusing magic… Yeah. I like it.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Wed, Apr 21, 2021 @ 5:13 AM
I’ve always liked the restrictive approach. I hope to use this experiment to learn how to use it better.