Yin of Yang Mixing In Progress
skip

Reviews for "Beginnings and Endings (Measure of a Soul Mix)"

Beginnings and Endings (Measu...
by gurdonark
Recommends (12)
Tue, Jul 8, 2008 @ 12:12 AM

Uses samples from:

Samples are used in:

 
Mike Linksvayer
.
permalink   Tue, Jul 8, 2008 @ 12:58 AM
slight vocal effects work well with the weirdbient music

and the subject of the spoken word is very poetic
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Fri, Jul 11, 2008 @ 7:09 AM
thanks for reviewing! I liked this spoken word piece, so it was a labor of joy to soundtrack it a bit.
MarcoRaaphorst
.
permalink   Tue, Jul 8, 2008 @ 1:07 AM
it’s sweet sounding. a peaceful track!
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Fri, Jul 11, 2008 @ 7:09 AM
thanks, Marco. I think sometimes I like the simple sweet sounds the best.
essesq
.
permalink   Tue, Jul 8, 2008 @ 4:50 AM
Thank you Gurdonark for taking my little poem on. I like the meditative tone you have set for it and also the little bit of chopping and splicing you did of the words (and I must admit that after uploading the piece I thought about that and wasn’t sure what I would make of that if someone actually did it).

It is a very strange experience to hear your own voice manipulated, especially when it is presented in its very natural state. It is one thing to think that you can make yourself available to the Commons and this community and quite another to actually do it. The manipulation of my voice in the second half of the piece was startling but quite pleasing to my ear.

I love the piece you quoted at the beginning of your notes and I will someday find it in my heart to forgive you for out-writing me ;-).
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Fri, Jul 11, 2008 @ 7:10 AM
I always see samples as things to morph, whether vocal or otherwise, and I am always grateful when the contributor does not mind the alteration. It’s a great little spoken word track, which I’ve not done full justice, but which I enjoyed remixing.
 
.
permalink   essesq Fri, Jul 11, 2008 @ 9:38 AM
My thanks and a big hug to everyone who has commented on my words and this mix. It means a lot to me. With a little encouragement you definitely increase your chances of seeing something else from me ;-).
narva9
.
permalink   Tue, Jul 8, 2008 @ 11:45 PM
Cool! The words are so beautiful….and soundscape you’ve created gives them room to breath, stand still and move.

Wonderful.

n9
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Fri, Jul 11, 2008 @ 7:11 AM
Thank you so much for such a kind review!
radiotimes
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 11, 2008 @ 6:22 AM
The vocal treatment works very well and fits into the accompaniment in such a way that the message the words hold is brought out very strongly.

You have a very sympathetic ear for the samples you choose in all your work and the blending of these always makes your work interesting and challenging to the spirit.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Fri, Jul 11, 2008 @ 7:12 AM
Many thanks. I love working with spoken word, as I like to “soundtrack” things, and spoken words lend themselves to that.
AT
.
permalink   Sat, Jul 12, 2008 @ 7:10 PM
very peaceful, thoughtful mix.
Made me find a point on the screen and stare whilst listening, its nice to be taken away sometimes.