Vid of Perspectives at Art City!
skip
Home » People » Jeris » Nothing To Me » Reviews

Reviews for "Nothing To Me"

Nothing To Me
by Jeris
Recommends (23)
Sat, Mar 10, 2012 @ 10:10 AM

Uses samples from:

 
Javolenus
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 10, 2012 @ 10:52 AM
Totally blown away. You’re a genius man, no joke.
 
.
permalink   Jeris Sat, Mar 10, 2012 @ 11:02 AM
Thanks man, I wanted to leave work yesterday and go home to work on this. Had it stuck in my head all day yesterday. Thanks for sharing..your stuff is brilliant!
 
.
permalink   Javolenus Sat, Mar 10, 2012 @ 11:15 AM
Many thanks for this, really appreciate it.

You put so much soul into this track, I’m actually a bit taken aback — sounds fantastic.

After a long time messing about with MIDI and soft synths, I recently got the urge to go acoustic, and so I’ve been posting these songs and fragments.

Using/adapting lyrics that are over 2,000 years old really appealed to me. I’ll see what else I can find of Sappho’s lyrics.

I really like that this Ancient Greek woman wrote the words and now it’s become soul music!
 
.
permalink   Jeris Sat, Mar 10, 2012 @ 11:41 AM
Yeah thats great stuff…so poetic. Those old lyrics really appeal to me as well.
 
.
permalink   Javolenus Mon, Nov 5, 2012 @ 8:32 AM
Just listened again after a few months—sounds better than ever. It’s a great, soul mix—well, more than a mix, a whole interpretation. One of my favourites and would be on my “Best of” compilation. Thanks again—just wanted to let you know I still listen.
 
.
permalink   Jeris Mon, Nov 5, 2012 @ 6:40 PM
Thanks man…still one of my favs as well. Hopefully we’ll be on another one together soon : )
Speck
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 10, 2012 @ 2:31 PM
Engrossed throughout. Nice instrumentation and vocal arrangement.
 
.
permalink   Jeris Sat, Mar 10, 2012 @ 3:38 PM
Thanks Speck!
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 10, 2012 @ 3:49 PM
Beautiful.
 
.
permalink   Jeris Sat, Mar 10, 2012 @ 3:52 PM
Thanks Susan, I just uploaded a new version, I think the intro sounds better with just one vocal part.
colab
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 10, 2012 @ 5:50 PM
This is just so lovely.

I wish I could have made this. Listening as a producer there’s nothing I would have done differently; and listening as a, well, listener I’m just happy.

This is very, very good.
 
.
permalink   Jeris Sat, Mar 10, 2012 @ 6:27 PM
Thanks Colab, I made few adjustments and reposted a few times…a few fade changes, dropped some parts out, etc..I ‘m pretty happy with it now.
 
.
permalink   Javolenus Sat, Mar 10, 2012 @ 10:06 PM
That’s good—thanks for taking time to tweak this. I’m still kind of totally amazed by this track—real magic.
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 11, 2012 @ 4:26 AM
You continue to capture the folks sitting around jamming vibe. Keeping the live feel is a great skill.

Do you evaluate the mixer tracks wrt what is happening under 50Hz and 300Hz when you mix?
 
.
permalink   Jeris Sun, Mar 11, 2012 @ 8:01 AM
Unfortunately, I’m not much of an engineer. I usually apply high pass and low pass filters on the bass and vocals if that’s what you mean?! Copperhead told me about that, I think it makes a huge difference.

I got curious about your question and decided to look at my master mix. I noticed I could adjust the stereo imaging on the different bands. I tried widening the 3.25 khz and 125 hz range and compressing the 20 hz. Not sure if that was a good move but it sounds better to me..lol
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Sun, Mar 11, 2012 @ 10:51 PM
Here is some opinion on mixing. You already know opinions are like _____, everybody’s got one ‘:0)

Many of your mixes have a lot of bottom, which is fine. However, sometimes there seems to be some rumble and lack of clarity in the lower range.

Most pop music mixers cut frequencies below 30-20Hz. Many start cutting at 50Hz. This helps with the rumble and makes your kick sound emphatic. You said Greg mentioned this 2 ya.

The kick drum is usually strong around 80Hz. You wanna see where your bass instrument frequency is emphatic (usually 120 to 160Hz) in relation to the kick so they don’t step on each other and EQ accordingly. Some folks use side chaining to allow the kick drum transient to trigger a limiter to suppress the bass or visa versa. As you mentioned, using mid-side techniques to center the bass and kick can help clarity as well.

It is also good to analyze what is going on under 300Hz as well. Some educators recommend that you analyze all instruments that are not low end instruments by nature and cut low end frequencies that do not enhance the mix.

It is a good habit to use a EQ with spectrum analyzer (see example) to observe each track. Cut or dampen all low end frequency below 30 or 50Hz, your call. You may find a lot of noise/garbage in this area, especially in free and shared samples. Then experiment cutting frequencies below 300Hz on guitar, voice, etc to see where is sharpens you mix, and improves clarity. You’ll may find a lot of noise/garbage in this area as well, especially in free and shared samples.

Using fixed band pass filters is a common and useful technique. We like to look at spectrum analysis of each track to see and hear then manually tweak the EQ.

Here some YouTuber dance music guy showing how to visualize the bass and drums and adjust the FL Studio EQ2 plugin (the one we use) to tighten up the bottom. The type of music and DAW is not important. The concept remains the same although each mix will have its own sound, so there is no fixed rules just general approach and use you ear to manage the low end. http://www.youtube.com/watc...

Of course placement within stereo field, side chaining and mid-side processing, harmonic exciters, etc also help with clarity and separation.

Mixing with a lot of low end is harder than not. We try to avoid it. However, there are folks, some on this forum, who pull it off quite well. See Loveshadow.

TRF
 
.
permalink   Jeris Mon, Mar 12, 2012 @ 11:54 AM
Wow, thanks!!!
timberman
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 11, 2012 @ 10:47 AM
I’m not an editor anymore, I regret that decision now. This is just divine.
 
.
permalink   Jeris Sun, Mar 11, 2012 @ 11:13 AM
Thanks Per!
 
.
permalink   Alex Sun, Mar 11, 2012 @ 11:42 AM
It’s really a very beautiful song!!! Congrats to both of you!
 
.
permalink   Javolenus Sun, Mar 11, 2012 @ 3:19 PM
Hi Alex and many thanks for this.
 
.
permalink   Alex Sun, Mar 11, 2012 @ 11:25 AM
It’s fixed Per ;)
 
.
permalink   timberman Sun, Mar 11, 2012 @ 11:49 AM
Great choice, Alex.
 
.
permalink   Jeris Sun, Mar 11, 2012 @ 2:25 PM
Thanks Alex!!
 
.
permalink   Javolenus Sun, Mar 11, 2012 @ 3:17 PM
Hey, just listened again—seems to get better each time. You created a thing of beauty with this mix. Big thank you.
 
.
permalink   Jeris Sun, Mar 11, 2012 @ 3:18 PM
Thanks..I ‘m pretty sure I’m done now..lol
Wanted to get it right!
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 11, 2012 @ 3:12 PM
Well it’s all been said by other reviewers because I’m late to the show but this really is in a class of its own, Jeris. It has everything. Your vocal is outstanding - awash with emotion and artistry. An Ed Pick for sure.
 
.
permalink   Jeris Sun, Mar 11, 2012 @ 3:15 PM
Thanks for the kind review Ciggi!
panu
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 11, 2012 @ 3:20 PM
beautifully done!
 
.
permalink   Jeris Sun, Mar 11, 2012 @ 3:24 PM
Thanks Panu!
Jacob Nowak
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 11, 2012 @ 6:26 PM
In every next mix you surprise me more and I love being surprised:) Very deep and solid craft music. Good work, Jeris
 
.
permalink   Jeris Sun, Mar 11, 2012 @ 6:48 PM
Thanks Jacob!!
CSoul
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 17, 2012 @ 6:52 AM
Congrats my friend ,
peace