Early Birds Begin Nesting in the Tree
skip
Home » People » PhilTheNil » Storms (V3) » Reviews

Reviews for "Storms (V3)"

Storms (V3)
by PhilTheNil
Recommends (5)
Thu, Aug 6, 2009 @ 7:57 AM

Uses samples from:

 
timberman
.
permalink   Thu, Aug 6, 2009 @ 12:32 PM
As you know I liked the previous version a lot. I have no access to headphones today so I can’t really listen in the same way on this take but it sure sounds good
 
.
permalink   PhilTheNil Fri, Aug 7, 2009 @ 2:00 AM
No pb. I’ll go to Embrun (french Alps) tomorrow till Sunday noon, and I won’t have any PC at all! So, take your time;-)
Just hope you’ll prefer this v3…
iluffchinchillas
.
permalink   Thu, Aug 6, 2009 @ 3:52 PM
I like it a lot. This piece is version I like better. I dreamt this song up and this is pretty much how it went. It was a kind of fluid background you know? Because of the “storm” it’s supposed to be like a storm in the ocean or something… and then like during the… idk the technical term for it but i call it the ‘bridge’. Not the refrain but not the chorus. Anyway, that part I imagine being more like “ive been saved from this storm” kinda feeling, more relaxed and calm, then back to the first part… anyway, you did a remarkable job. Loved it.
 
.
permalink   PhilTheNil Fri, Aug 7, 2009 @ 2:29 AM
Thank you very much for enlightning me on your intention, as I kept wondering: how to make a break and avoid too linear a structure? But prehaps I should have started by asking the question in the first place…

English is not my native tongue, but I do understand the terms “refrain” (french word for chorus) and “bridge”. The latter, “pont” in french, is a fairly common word among musicians to describe a transition which leads to a change of tone, but not necessarily to the chorus/refrain. The bridge is usually instrumental only, but rules are made to stand exceptions, right?
Can you tell me, from your mp3, where the bridge stands (I know that what I have dont was wrong
For forgiveness I long
I guess)?
And how do you want to proceed? I think I can improve in adding some tension/release in the music flow, by inserting a bridge as you say (muting the instruments, keeping just one below your voice, or adding some discordance in the chords, for instance).

Maybe it would be better if I send you the trial versions by mail, instead of crowding ccMixter with each intermediate attempt.
Your decision…
Mine is philippenowak@gmail.com and I have a (work in progress) web site: http://philnowak.net
It has some of my most recent songs, in french, and I can upload files you can retrieve only parts if you want to remix yourself from the rough material.
Even if I have a very attentive (and forgiving) reviewer, St Paul himself, providing wise advice from his cloud.
Any other solution welcome!
Thank you
Phil
PS: I won’t be here till Sunday noon FR time.
 
.
permalink   iluffchinchillas Tue, May 29, 2012 @ 4:43 PM
oh my gosh, it’s been like… over a year since you said this! I didn’t realize you’d replied till now (sorry). I would still like to check out the other ideas if you still have them (understandable if you dont. it’s been a while).
 
.
permalink   PhilTheNil Wed, May 30, 2012 @ 4:52 AM
Yes, it’s been a while, as you say. A year and so where I had neither time nor energy/inspiration to play & write.
Strange you reply just NOW, kind of synchronicity with my own questioning on music and creativity in general…
Not sure if I’ll find the answer.
Thanks for your answer, a pleasure, even if late. As we say here : “better late than never” ;-)
Phil
SackJo22
.
permalink   Fri, Aug 7, 2009 @ 10:23 AM
This is very beautiful, capturing the essence of Hannah’s song and enhancing the lovely tone of her vocal. I appreciate how you have been working through this track, listening, refining, and shaping. Bravo!
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Mon, Aug 10, 2009 @ 8:38 AM
I really like where you are going with this the backing is like an Air track.

I personally dont think the vocals quite cut it though to be honest in this mix.

But there are shades of it being really good.
 
.
permalink   PhilTheNil Mon, Aug 10, 2009 @ 9:57 AM
Thank you very much for your critics (this word to be taken as a compliment in my mouth, as it helps progressing). Could you please develop a little bit on “vocals don’t cut through”? In which sense:
- they are not loud enough compared to the rest of the instruments, or
- delay is hiding them and confusing?
- the structure of the song is somehow too linear?
- the singer should post another version?
Sorry if I’m a little too much ‘feet stuck to the ground’ but I can see many meanings to your sentence I need to clarify.
Thanks
Phil