skip

Reviews for "Truly Free (Die-Konstrukt Mix)"

Truly Free (Die-Konstrukt Mix)
by Joel Frijters
Recommends (13)
Thu, Jul 26, 2012 @ 9:33 AM
 
Speck
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 26, 2012 @ 9:52 AM
Truly fully engaging. An interesting lessening of intensity as it progresses toward… nothingness/truly free. Excellent piece.
 
.
permalink   Joel Frijters Thu, Jul 26, 2012 @ 10:04 AM
Thanks Speck. Those are exceptionally nice words and for them I am truly grateful. As I listened to it again in earbuds I see some very intense, specific images in my mind. It’s very early but I think this one might have legs :-) Anywhoo thanks!
Cheers!
copperhead
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 26, 2012 @ 11:59 AM
I am going to just agree with Specks perfect review:)
 
.
permalink   Joel Frijters Thu, Jul 26, 2012 @ 1:01 PM
Thanks!
Cheers!
annabloom
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 26, 2012 @ 2:15 PM
what a please surprise after a hard day in the office - and with regards to your intro: i would accept the apologies if there was something to apologise for, alas, there isn’t. it’s a remix after all, not a replay, so i expect things to ‘messed’ with.
on that note, i’ll be lazy and, like copperhead before me, adopt speck’s review as my own (a kind of review remix)
 
.
permalink   Joel Frijters Thu, Jul 26, 2012 @ 2:25 PM
Well I am glad you are pleased :-) I just thought the original track was so beautiful that I didn’t want to damage it in any way :-) May I ask how you construct your tracks?
Cheers!
 
.
permalink   annabloom Fri, Jul 27, 2012 @ 5:36 PM
in the best case i have track in mind - not a clear image, more like a plan drawn on a napkin. sometimes it’s just a drum loop, or bits of melody. i take it from there, add more and more and usually take away more than i added.
hard to say actually how i do it. at some point i deem it to be finished - although i always think i could have done better/differently
 
.
permalink   Joel Frijters Mon, Jul 30, 2012 @ 8:56 AM
It is truly magical stuff you produce and I often can’t think of improvement from the materials you have chosen. The only way I thought of doing something different with the work was adding a bunch of words :) The original has such beautiful repeated ideas that it was a delightful springboards into lyric. Again thanks for a great track and truly original offerings to the community!
Cheers!
Kara Square
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 27, 2012 @ 4:34 AM
A sonic journey… this could be incredible in film. Like one of those artsy movies: Huh… ;) (In a very, very good way.)
 
.
permalink   Joel Frijters Fri, Jul 27, 2012 @ 5:01 AM
Yeah, I didn’t want to say it earlier (just in case people think I’m crazy) but when listening to this song for the first time (post-mix) I saw a shockingly strong image of Pierrot Lumiere… Sad face and lots of caked on makeup :-)
Anyway… Yeah, I think it’s gunna be good :-)
Cheers!
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 27, 2012 @ 7:13 PM
The highest compliment I know how to pay is that this sounds like Speck. :)
 
.
permalink   Joel Frijters Sat, Jul 28, 2012 @ 4:06 AM
You have no idea how happy that made me :)
Cheers!
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Sat, Jul 28, 2012 @ 12:27 AM
Controlled chaos, KF
You’ve been very productive lately :)
 
.
permalink   Joel Frijters Sat, Jul 28, 2012 @ 4:07 AM
I feel like I may be hitting my stride so to speak. Every once and a while it just seems easier than other times. All this encouragement certainly helps :)
Cheers!
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sat, Jul 28, 2012 @ 11:44 AM
Appreciate the archetype tag. In fact, I think I’ll start using it. This track is kind of a like a dream that leaves an impression you don’t quite understand when you wake up, but that you definitely are aware of.
 
.
permalink   Joel Frijters Mon, Jul 30, 2012 @ 9:01 AM
I love the term archetype as it plays along a line of being insanely deep or an overly simplified icon. As is the case with many words in our beloved English it has just escaped all lost of meaning through a graceful lack of use :)
That and I just love the strange alleyways you can find yourself through tag-jumping :)
Cheers!
Snowflake
.
permalink   Sat, Jul 28, 2012 @ 7:02 PM
a truly musical journey. captivating sonic experience. brilliant.
 
.
permalink   Joel Frijters Mon, Jul 30, 2012 @ 9:02 AM
This was a rather quick mix for me and the more I listen to it afterward I think I put down the musical ‘scalpel’ at the right time :)