Time of Terror Remix Event
skip
Home » People » Javolenus » Caphira » Reviews

Reviews for "Caphira"

Caphira
by Javolenus
Recommends (13)
Sun, Apr 21, 2013 @ 10:44 PM
 
Rey Izain
.
permalink   Mon, Apr 22, 2013 @ 2:26 AM
O man…don’t take this wrong BUT this is guitar sex…it holds and touches where it shouldn’t…absolute musical chocolate
 
.
permalink   Javolenus Mon, Apr 22, 2013 @ 6:41 AM
Hey Rey thanks for this. Appreciate your review and support man! “Musical chocolate” — I like that!
Martijn de Boer (NiGiD)
.
permalink   Mon, Apr 22, 2013 @ 6:06 AM
At first I was a little confused, you turning the beat around, but it works. The second part is very sensitive. Great work, Javo
 
.
permalink   Martijn de Boer (NiGiD) Mon, Apr 22, 2013 @ 6:24 AM
Ah, you used ‘Dome 257’ instead of your ‘Em116-AcouGTR-ImproInOpenEm’. Was that intentional? ;)
 
.
permalink   Javolenus Mon, Apr 22, 2013 @ 6:49 AM
Hi and thanks for this! Mmm, I had all kinds of problems with this track! First, I just couldn’t remember the original guitar chord shapes from so long ago (the Em116 guitar thing was just an impromptu session in some altered tuning), and so I realised I’d have to do something different. And then I had problems with your bass track — lots of “popping” noises plus “hum” — and these got worse when I started applying signal processing. But your Bass chords track was fine . I decided to try to cobble together some kind of “live” jam vibe by combining the Dome 257 track and the Bass chords track. I’m not sure if it works or hangs together, especially as by this time it was late and I was knackered, but I thought: “Well, I’ve started so I’ll try to finish!” Anyway, thanks for the review — appreciate that! I’m a big fan of your bass playing! Sorry about any confusion, just wanted to at least try and get something down. Thanks again and with best wishes!
 
.
permalink   Martijn de Boer (NiGiD) Mon, Apr 22, 2013 @ 6:59 AM
No no, it’s perfectly fine. And youre right: I sometimes have a hum and also those annoying popping sounds. Some are just me muting strings, or giving a mute upbeat, drummers just hate that. But a lot of them just appear while exporting the audio files.

The strange thing is, that the hum comes and goes in recordings. Must have something to do with the earth wire on my computer. I’ve been advised by musicians to not use it, but I’m a little afraid of net peaks. I might try to record on a wireless netbook in the future and see how that works.

Anyway, you did a great job. Sorry for all the problems I gave you!
 
.
permalink   Javolenus Mon, Apr 22, 2013 @ 7:13 AM
Hi and thanks — no problem really! enjoyed playing along. There are some “pops” and “hums” on the Dome 257 Bass track too, but not so much. Sometimes these noises only become a big problem when mastering. It’s a shame because your playing is so ultra cool! I’m not very technical minded, so I can’t advise — I’m sure there are plenty on this site who could. Guess you can always post any questions on the forum.
Dysfunction_AL
.
permalink   Wed, Apr 24, 2013 @ 3:11 PM
It reminds me of the long sessions in the recording studio with my friends, when I played long ago (I was playing .. is exaggerated) with a band. we gave ourselves these moments of leisure travel. great job, and thanks for the musical journey
 
.
permalink   Javolenus Sun, Apr 28, 2013 @ 6:04 AM
Hi and many thanks indeed for this. I’m happy this evoked good memories! Thanks and best wishes.