Branching Out Secret Mixter
skip
Home » Forums » DIY » Switched to MAC - DAW recomendations?

Switched to MAC - DAW recomendations?

Blake
permalink   Mon, Jul 29, 2013 @ 11:56 AM
Hey guys, it’s been a while since I’ve uploaded anything here, and even longer since I’ve been to the forums. I came here because I’m going to college at American University in the Fall for Audio Technology, and I had to get a Mac. Now, I’ve been using FL Studio on the PC for 4 years now, and I can pretty much say I’ve mastered it.

I’ve installed boot camp on my mac to run FL Studio, but I would like to take advantage of Mac native programs. I will be using Pro Tools for class assignments, and if I decide to record anyone else, but for my own creations, I would like to use something else. I will be primarily making EDM, rap, and dance instrumentals. I liked FL Studio because it was so easy to make full songs with full control over everything in the song without any hardware. I also loved the step sequencer, something I think other programs don’t have after doing a little research.

Hopefully someone has had to this before, and can direct me in the right way! I have no problem using boot camp, but if there’s something I’m missing out on, I would appreciate any tips.

Thanks in advance.
Admiral Bob
permalink   Tue, Jul 30, 2013 @ 8:53 AM
Logic!

And of course, try out GarageBand. It is surprisingly useful and you already have it.

permalink   Blake Tue, Jul 30, 2013 @ 8:57 AM
Does logic have a good set of instrument plugins? I don’t have a lot of money to spend on plugins, and saying as they’re much “easier” to get in vst form for windows, I wouldn’t want to be using an empty DAW unless I purchase my own 3rd party plugins.

permalink   ScOmBer Thu, Aug 1, 2013 @ 2:56 PM