Branching Out Secret Mixter
skip
Home » Forums » The Big OT » The mashup ahead

The mashup ahead

ramjac
permalink   Sun, Sep 19, 2010 @ 11:44 AM
Hello,

long time since I have logged in here, a couple of years in fact.

I am brought back by my studies for a sonic arts degree for which I am currently writing partly about mashup culture. I am no expert on it. On the contrary, I am only just starting to understand it. I do however think that in the context of the culture that ccmixter is a part of that contributors here must have thoughts on mashups in general but more particularly on the future of the mashup.

Isnt ccmixter the perfect place for people to start combining entire tracks in an exciting global mashup but with original music? And beyond ccmixter, isnt there room for such adventures to be made available for commerce as many artists already collaborate, only this time using a mashup of ‘finished’ stereo files rather than ‘you do the rhythm or lyric and i’ll do the melody” etc, or am i slow to catch on and this is already going on all over the place?

I would love to read any thoughts and opinions on this and would be grateful for any wisdom or answers.

Thanks

Ram
Admiral Bob
permalink   Sun, Sep 19, 2010 @ 4:00 PM
Fourstones I think has called it “spontaneous collaboration.” That is, rather than plan out a collab specifically with who the lyricist, composer, and instrumentalists are, you sort of put your piece out there and let the magic take over.

That is why CCMixter consistently produces a higher quality of music than other music sites. You get the best collaborators with the best ideas: in short the music becomes what it should be, and not just what you think it should be.

Remixing finished files doesn’t happen a whole lot on CCMixter, just because full files without stems are a little hard to work with. There are certain mix artists (like Girltalk) who can work with anything, finished or not.