Beauty of Perspective Event
skip
Home » People » urmymuse » way out here » Reviews

Reviews for "way out here"

way out here
by urmymuse
Recommends (14)
Sun, Apr 11, 2010 @ 1:26 AM

Uses samples from:

Samples are used in:

 
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 11, 2010 @ 1:36 AM
Good accompaniment. Spaced out and floating. Fits well with the pella.
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Sun, Apr 11, 2010 @ 12:33 PM
cheers, spent ages doing and redoing so glad you think it works.
Ivan Chew
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 11, 2010 @ 6:02 AM
Here’s what I think: Overall it has a nice, smooth, clean, dreamy feel. The opening is pretty good, imo. I like the sound of the keyboard, the way the background guitar (at least I think it’s the guitar) and bass worked themselves in. There are also several subtle touches with the instrumentation and arrangement that I think belies a lot of work and planning into it. It sounds good when played straight from my Mac, and even better with the earphones.

OK, some personal preferences here: I would have gone for a more obvious guitar lead, but maybe that would have ruined the feel you were trying to create. The ending was abrupt (the track got cut off?).
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Sun, Apr 11, 2010 @ 12:45 PM
Cheers Ivan … Glad you liked! My aged squire strat does good service on the track (heavily reverbed and echoed) but after several goes i gave up on giving it a leading role, went for the piano melody instead. Re abrupt end … i have reloaded with a fade out ending. I think this is better, thanks for the tip.
Fireproof_Babies
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 11, 2010 @ 8:59 AM
Excellent and beautiful song. I love that space-synth. What are you using?
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Sun, Apr 11, 2010 @ 12:52 PM
Quote: Fireproof_BabiesExcellent and beautiful song. I love that space-synth. What are you using? cheers ! really glad you liked, only got round to finishing it after my breakfast of monkey brains (lol) the space synth sound is the “stars” patch for the Malstrom synth in Reason / Record
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Wed, Apr 14, 2010 @ 7:24 PM
Ah…… Thanks for the info. Easy on the Monkey Brains. That’s some powerful stuff ;)
Subliminal
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 11, 2010 @ 9:02 AM
Yes, this is very good (one of many good remixes uploaded today). I guess that the lead guitar mentioned by Ivan is a personal thing, because I didn’t really miss it, but the track does seem to end a bit abruptly. The only minor point of an otherwise great remix.
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Sun, Apr 11, 2010 @ 12:55 PM
Cheers! following feedback from your good self and Ivan i have replaced the abrupt ending with a fade out which i think works better. Thanks for the tip.
 
.
permalink   Ivan Chew Mon, Apr 12, 2010 @ 8:10 AM
After listening to this again, I’ve to say “forget about my comment about the lead”! Yeah, it’s not really needed (sadly, I’m quite conventional LOL). This rendition works and a lead would just make it stand out less overall.
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Mon, Apr 12, 2010 @ 10:22 AM
(sadly, I’m quite conventional LOL).

Cheers for listening again Ivan! not so sure about you being conventional though :)
DeBenedictis
.
permalink   Wed, Apr 14, 2010 @ 1:48 PM
Sorry for not commenting until now, I have had limited computer access and only had time to “thumb-up” the other morning. This is very well done, and a great interpretation of the vocal…the lyrics were inspired by the
“Spacing Guild Navigators” in the Dune novels (pilots immersed in tanks of drugs who begin to physically atophy and then gain prescience and the ability to fold space). My point being, you can’t go wrong with a space synth. :)
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Wed, Apr 14, 2010 @ 2:39 PM
Thanks Lisa … Thanks again for what is a really wonderful vocal. I am pleased as punch that you think my treatment works. Life is full of little coincidences … as i worked out my remix of your great track my ancient copy of the Dune trilogy stared down at me from the book shelves of my library (well i call it the library , everybody else calls it the spare rooom !)
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Wed, Apr 14, 2010 @ 7:27 PM
Gotta love Frank Herbert. Have you ever read, “The Green Brain” by Herbert?
 
.
permalink   urmymuse Wed, Apr 14, 2010 @ 10:34 PM
Yes I have, Cost me 85p (new) back in 1979. Still got it, its the one where the insects coalesce into people isn’t it ?