Time of Terror Remix Event
skip

Reviews for "Who will close my eyes for me"

Who will close my eyes for me
by kulimu
Recommends (2)
Wed, Jan 30, 2008 @ 8:21 AM

Uses samples from:

 
duckett
.
permalink   Wed, Jan 30, 2008 @ 2:39 PM
I like the direction you took with this; there’s some nice ideas in here- I just wish your computer would’ve allowed you a little more breathing room, as it does sound a little rough-hewn. There’s some complex juxtaposition going on here that would benefit from some separation and smoothing; that’s the only issue preventing a “recommend”- the concept is great though!
 
.
permalink   kulimu Wed, Jan 30, 2008 @ 3:09 PM
Thanks for the kind review duckett. I’m happy you liked the concept.

I see what you mean about the breathing room : one note is louder than the rest, and because of the heavy limiting, it fades out the other pad.

I’m not sure what you mean by ‘separation’ though : is it the use of EQs to separate the spectrums of the different instruments? I have to admit that I don’t want to separate the two pads in that case : the overlapping makes the track for me!
 
.
permalink   duckett Wed, Jan 30, 2008 @ 4:14 PM
A little bit EQ, but also in the sense of a little level-dynamic, too; I’m not always the best at putting my thoughts into comprehensible English, but I found myself wanting a little more dark, squashed dirt in one way, while also wanting a little more smooth airy “chssssssss…” in another. Make sense? No? I told you I wasn’t good at this… Oh, well- please don’t worry too much as to my opinion, it’s not as though all my remixes are spotless testimonies to matching conception w/ execution ;)
 
.
permalink   duckett Wed, Jan 30, 2008 @ 4:15 PM
Oh, and, uh, thanks for remixing me n’ stuff, heh. Should’ve mentioned that earlier…
 
.
permalink   kulimu Thu, Jan 31, 2008 @ 12:16 AM
I do understand some of what you mean, so thanks for being more specific :)

Hope I’ll find some time to rework my mix!
slumberlords
.
permalink   Wed, Jan 30, 2008 @ 5:57 PM
i really like this, im impressed with how loud you got this, i could never get any of my songs this loud! music fits in well with the words, lots of things going on in there, which is cool - i was constantly listening to see what was gonna happen next, which is a good thing!
 
.
permalink   kulimu Thu, Jan 31, 2008 @ 12:22 AM
Well, I think I got it just a bit too loud, sqashing much of the dynamics.

Also, I thought there might not be enough going on in the first part, not enough variation. Maybe that’s why you were constantly listening for what was coming next! :)
AT
.
permalink   Fri, Feb 1, 2008 @ 7:58 PM
Hey Kulimu, I found this really interesting, kept my attention throughout. I love the sense of panic?!! (thats what I got from it anyway )
versus the more calm direction I went. Well done
 
.
permalink   kulimu Sat, Feb 2, 2008 @ 3:24 AM
Thanks for the review audiotechnica. I loved your own remix!

What I was going for was more of a sense of oppressive sadness than panic, but that’s not vey different, is it?