Rise from the Ashes Event
skip
Home » People » Quarkstar » Wake Up Kiss » Reviews

Reviews for "Wake Up Kiss"

Wake Up Kiss
by Quarkstar
Recommends (10)
Mon, May 19, 2014 @ 7:11 AM

Uses samples from:

 
Rey Izain
.
permalink   Mon, May 19, 2014 @ 7:59 AM
Ironically Quarkstar I’ve been recently working on the same vox and trying to similarly make it work out of it’s very strong melody…I have yet to have even the smallest success, lol. Well done bro.
 
.
permalink   Quarkstar Mon, May 19, 2014 @ 12:20 PM
Thanks for the recommend. I worked on the song most every day since snowflake put it up. After many dead-ends I left snowflakes melody alone and complemented it picking out matching chords.
 
.
permalink   Quarkstar Thu, May 22, 2014 @ 3:35 AM
Listening to Loveshadows remix of the same song, he took much the same approach, chords accompanying the existing melody.
Snowflake
.
permalink   Mon, May 19, 2014 @ 8:27 AM
a fairy tale indeed! lovely arrangement with mystical percussion. beautiful. thank you!
 
.
permalink   Quarkstar Mon, May 19, 2014 @ 12:33 PM
I just love your song. To me its as much an alarm call as Time by Pink Floyd. The arrangement is masterly, unconventional and fits the theme beautifully.

Oh and of course sung impeccably as usual.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Mon, May 19, 2014 @ 2:04 PM
Wow I’m speechless. You are far too kind. Peace. :)
Kara Square
.
permalink   Mon, May 19, 2014 @ 2:23 PM
This is an… experience. A magical experience. It’s amazing how this is incredibly beautiful, but the tension remains… brilliant.
 
.
permalink   Quarkstar Mon, May 19, 2014 @ 4:02 PM
Thanks Kara for a lovely review. I heard those moods in snowflakes song and the best stories are touched with darkness. I am glad you could hear them.

The beginning is simple to match the verses, but towards the end there are some tricky parts.
Speck
.
permalink   Tue, May 20, 2014 @ 3:49 AM
Very nice percussive track that works unexpectedly well with snowflakes pell.
 
.
permalink   Quarkstar Tue, May 20, 2014 @ 6:15 AM
Thank you, I like the unexpected.

Apart from the drums and vocals, there are 6 arpeggiated instruments playing the chords from snowflakes vocal and one instrument playing the bass. There are 8 percussion parts in the Taiko drums.
keytronic
.
permalink   Wed, May 21, 2014 @ 5:00 AM
Wow….this is really cool.
You have really hit the nail here.
I like the “lullaby” like loops with the disharmonic elements - it is like discribing a nightmare……Is Sandman really a honest person ?

 
.
permalink   Quarkstar Wed, May 21, 2014 @ 7:57 AM
Thanks! I was afraid nobody would listen past the beginning.
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Fri, May 23, 2014 @ 8:08 AM
Great to hear this vocal in a different setting, very theatrical.