Waiting Remix Event
skip

Reviews for "A Small Tune - Sonata for Piano and Cello"

A Small Tune - Sonata for Pia...
by Martijn de Boer (NiGiD)
Recommends (8)
Thu, Jul 9, 2015 @ 10:51 AM
 
Speck
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 10, 2015 @ 4:52 AM
You know I like pretty much everything you do and certainly this is no exception, I like it very much. But it would be hypocritical of me to recommend it since I’m so often asking people to please comply with what a sample is.

Just thought I’d share that in case you were wondering.

(Sorry to be such a ______.)
 
.
permalink   Martijn de Boer (NiGiD) Fri, Jul 10, 2015 @ 6:46 AM
You’re not a pain. And You’re right. However, I have no idea how to upload it. It’s not a remix either.

I can upload the instuments separately, but I don’t really see a point in that, because a separate instrument playing alone won’t make any sense in this form of music.

So I’m in a bit of a strange spot here.
 
.
permalink   Speck Fri, Jul 10, 2015 @ 9:02 AM
Ah yes, but a separate instrument playing alone can be manipulated (or not) to fit any form of music. That’s the fun of remixing. Having both the mix (as the preview) and separate instruments (which you have to do for it to qualify as a sample upload anyway) increases the options.
 
.
permalink   Martijn de Boer (NiGiD) Fri, Jul 10, 2015 @ 9:13 AM
I understand what you mean. And I’m happy to provide individual FLACs. However, I don’t really see why a two instrument piece can’t qualify as a sample.
 
.
permalink   Martijn de Boer (NiGiD) Fri, Jul 10, 2015 @ 5:01 PM
I’m sorry Speck. It’s my bad, I didn’t mean to argue with you at all.

I work on these pieces for several days, often even weeks. On each phrase for hours perhaps. That makes me overly protective. I will get over that. Promise.
 
.
permalink   Speck Sat, Jul 11, 2015 @ 5:21 AM
That was an argument? I took it as a discussion. The only reason I didn’t respond to your “don’t see why two instruments can’t be a sample” is because I don’t have a better response than “because that’s the rule”. Which makes me sound like a cop/dick.

But really it’s (this site) all about sharing/collaboration. I think I’ve learned more about music through interacting with your samples and mixes than anyone else’s here. And I value that highly.
 
.
permalink   Martijn de Boer (NiGiD) Tue, Jul 14, 2015 @ 6:42 PM
Thank you Speck. That’s about the biggest compliment one can get. I value that highly too.
 
.
permalink   Martijn de Boer (NiGiD) Fri, Jul 10, 2015 @ 7:17 AM
I uploaded separate instruments as FLAC and MIDI.
Doxent Zsigmond
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 10, 2015 @ 6:54 AM
As Speck mentioned this composition is great.
No need for instruments as separate but I’d rather need a midi file instead.
 
.
permalink   Martijn de Boer (NiGiD) Fri, Jul 10, 2015 @ 6:56 AM
Ah damn. Exporting MIDI from Podium is a real pain. I have to delete everything but one instrument first. Which instrument do you need? Both?
 
.
permalink   Doxent Zsigmond Fri, Jul 10, 2015 @ 7:10 AM
yeah, both.
 
.
permalink   Martijn de Boer (NiGiD) Fri, Jul 10, 2015 @ 7:16 AM
Done :)
Please let me know if they are useful. Or not. I’m not sure Podium is reliable.
 
.
permalink   Doxent Zsigmond Fri, Jul 10, 2015 @ 7:29 AM
Yup, everything is properly in place.
I’m fiddling with it now. ;-)
 
.
permalink   Martijn de Boer (NiGiD) Fri, Jul 10, 2015 @ 7:43 AM
Phew, that’s a relieve. Have fun! ;)
Kara Square
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 10, 2015 @ 2:01 PM
Beautiful. Awesome that you shared the FLAC and MIDI… Definitely more useful for everyone. I do the same thing when uploading instrumental ukulele tracks. The preview is a mix of all the stems I put in zips. I also include MIDI when applicable. Anyway, well done!
 
.
permalink   Martijn de Boer (NiGiD) Fri, Jul 10, 2015 @ 3:52 PM
Thanks Kara, and no problem. I think I got it right now (Podium was being a pain to me before.)
Javolenus
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 10, 2015 @ 3:11 PM
Really great — right up my Strasse …
 
.
permalink   Martijn de Boer (NiGiD) Fri, Jul 10, 2015 @ 3:52 PM
Danke Sehr ;)