Secret Mixter Tracks
skip

Reviews for "House Of The Rising Sun"

House Of The Rising Sun
by Javolenus
Recommends (20)
Wed, Sep 19, 2012 @ 1:50 PM
 
Zep Hurme
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 19, 2012 @ 1:56 PM
Nice arrangement! The song was in the playlist of every band I was back in the day.
 
.
permalink   Javolenus Wed, Sep 19, 2012 @ 2:02 PM
Cheers Zep—yeah, it’s a well-known staple I guess! I came up with this guitar groove years ago and used to play this song with a soprano sax player taking the lead. I don’t think I ever actually sang it back then—just bashed my fingers into a bloody pulp!
radiotimes
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 19, 2012 @ 4:59 PM
Ah memory lane time again!

Despite the song being a traditional favourite, for most it will always belong to Eric Burdon and the Animals. According to Wilkipedia the song was recorded in one take which says so much about todays cut and paste musical world. Back in those days Pro Tools was something an apprentice aspired to and Logic was never in our minds as we lived life to the full!

This is not quite as good as Eric’s version but it’s still a fine performance:)
 
.
permalink   Javolenus Fri, Sep 21, 2012 @ 1:05 PM
Hi RT and many thanks for this—appreciate the feedback. I always hear that “Animals” Vox organ when I think of this song!
Wired Ant
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 19, 2012 @ 8:43 PM
Alltime favourite of mine and good to listen to an interpretation that cleared out all the bourbon
 
.
permalink   Javolenus Fri, Sep 21, 2012 @ 1:05 PM
Many thanks for this—appreciate the review!
debbizo
.
permalink   Fri, Sep 21, 2012 @ 4:57 AM
I enjoyed this version very much and I quite liked the whistle, even though you thought it was a bad recording. I might do something with this later. Thanks.
 
.
permalink   Javolenus Fri, Sep 21, 2012 @ 1:06 PM
Hi and thanks for this. I’m glad you liked this and really appreciate the review—hope you find a use for the stems!
tigabeatz
.
permalink   Sat, Sep 22, 2012 @ 12:51 AM
damn it, that comes great on an early saturday morning. and i love your whistle!

yours
 
.
permalink   Javolenus Sun, Sep 23, 2012 @ 11:07 AM
Cheers Tiga—appreciate the feedback! All the best.