Waiting Remix Event
skip
Home » People » Briareus » All My Life » Reviews

Reviews for "All My Life"

All My Life
by Briareus
Recommends (10)
Sun, Jan 4, 2009 @ 2:00 PM

Uses samples from:

 
Carosone
.
permalink   Sun, Jan 4, 2009 @ 3:36 PM
Hallo, welcome here, I knew you and your guitar from the Calendar Girl website. This is a beautiful and originalsong, the tech-ethnic percussion is very interesting throughout the piece, while i think there’s something odd in the vocal reverb, perhaps too overdone (or was it intentional??). The most beautiful part is the long vocal harmonization and the echoed synth that goes like waves on the percussion.
 
.
permalink   Briareus Sun, Jan 4, 2009 @ 5:09 PM
Thanks for the review and glad you enjoyed. The vocals were a struggle to work with - the original pella seems to have a delay or odd reverb of sorts. None the less, her lyrics are nice and her vocal scat compelling - it was the main reason I wanted to remix her.
 
.
permalink   Valerie Michele Oliver Mon, Aug 17, 2009 @ 1:04 PM
Hi, Briareus. Wow! This is the first time I’ve had a chance to visit here and listen to your remix of my song. I can’t believe how well you did with it despite the problems. I’ve read all the reviews and agree big time! I wish I had been here sooner because I’ve been invited to submit a jazz instrumental concept version of the song to the Independent Music Awards (IMA). I can submit two versions, and they must be in by the end of the day on Friday, August 21st. If you could get a better remix in time, I will submit it the instrumental version. Here is a link to my music page on ReverbNation including ALL MY LIFE so you can hear other versions in the works: http://www.reverbnation.com... BTW: Thanks for the wonderful words about my voice & passion. Again, great remix with the original acapella version. Val
 
.
permalink   Briareus Mon, Aug 17, 2009 @ 1:35 PM
Perhaps it’s time for another version. Let me see what I can come up with…
 
.
permalink   Valerie Michele Oliver Mon, Aug 17, 2009 @ 2:56 PM
Cool. FYI: I posted links on my Facebook, Twitter, and main blog so that people can find you and the song. Also, I uploaded it to my ReverbNation profile too. I know you can improve it, but I swear,I love it as it is too: broken, romantic, and smooth. Here’s my email ‘cause it’s faster to get in touch with me: oliver.valerie@gmail.com.
radiotimes
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 6, 2009 @ 8:08 AM
I’ve listened to a lot of your mixes and most of them have a great choice of sounds that fit together really well.

However like this one they are let down by the final mixing. You seem to lay everything on one plain so it all sits uneasily together. The mix needs more variation on the EQ’levels and the various sounds need to be made to fit the mix more naturally.

The vox does sound unnatural and I have taken a listen to the sample. It needs DSP’ing to get it to sound right before putting it into the mix. It’s a great vocal even though not very well recorded but let’s hope Valerie uploads some more music as she has a beautiful sounding voice.

Sorry if you think I am being too harsh with my words but I only bother to say them as I really enjoy your work and would enjoy it more if the final mix down was better.
 
.
permalink   Briareus Tue, Jan 6, 2009 @ 10:07 AM
You’re not being too harsh. I’m not completely happy with the mix the more I listen to it. I’ll revisit this one. She does have a great voice and some real passion.

Thx.
duckett
.
permalink   Wed, Jan 7, 2009 @ 6:13 PM
I like the airy, open yet intimate feel you’ve given this- there’s a tenderness which complements Valerie’s upload wonderfully.
TheJoe
.
permalink   Wed, Jan 14, 2009 @ 2:09 PM
To second RT, your mix could have some eq balancing etc. but despite of this it has very nice feel and floating atmosphere.
Valerie Michele Oliver
.
permalink   Mon, Aug 17, 2009 @ 2:44 PM
Oh, yeah. The more I listen, the more I hear this a Nu-jazz. Get in touch with me via email @ the IMA submissions. We can both share in the exposure. Hope all is well. Val