Branching Out Secret Mixter
skip
Home » Forums » The Big OT » Sony Hates You More Than Ever

Sony Hates You More Than Ever

victor
permalink   Fri, Nov 11, 2005 @ 7:44 AM
In case you’ve been in a cave: it turns out putting a Sony audio CD into your computer leaves you open to having them (yes, Sony) install the worst possible kind of virus attack called a ‘rootkit’ onto your Windows machine.

The phenomenal weblog DISS has been keeping up to date with the latest developments:
click here for latest info.

I highly recommend adding this weblog to your list of feeds because Dave is being very vigilant in this (and other cases).

Coincidentally I had a rootkit on my main DAW last week. I’m not a low-level systems kind of guru but I was a professional programmer for 20 years (including 6 at Microsoft) and it took me three full days to find and kill it — rootkits are impervious to ANY existing anti-virus software! (I used Rootkitrevealer that Dave mentions in the link above to finally hunt it down.)

This behavior by Sony is the closest thing to justifying civil-disobedience I have seen by the RIAA associated labels. And that’s saying a lot.

Peace,
VS
Acradian Burn
permalink   Fri, Nov 11, 2005 @ 9:39 AM
This will DEFINATELY help Sony sell more cd’s…
teru
permalink   Fri, Nov 18, 2005 @ 4:49 PM
http://www.pcpro.co.uk/news...

How f’uped would this be if it proved to be true?
EJG (aka Laerlooper)
permalink   Fri, Nov 18, 2005 @ 10:27 PM
Here’s a snip of my rant in the FL Studio forum. I couldn’t rewrite it any better if I wanted to: