skip
Home » People » fourstones » 1000 Years » Reviews

Reviews for "1000 Years"

1000 Years
by fourstones
Recommends (13)
Sun, Aug 7, 2005 @ 5:04 PM
 
the100thmonkey
.
permalink   Mon, Aug 8, 2005 @ 11:57 AM
Enoesque (this is not intrinsically a criticism).

good stuff!
 
.
permalink   fourstones Mon, Aug 8, 2005 @ 12:01 PM
Quote: Enoesque (this is not intrinsically a criticism).

um, criticism? until now saying Enoesque wrt my music only happens in my dreams.
vate
.
permalink   Thu, Sep 15, 2005 @ 5:04 AM
I’ve just listened to the two tracks you made with the “patria” library samples (“My name is geoff” and specially “1000 years”) and liked both a lot. 1000 years is obviously closer to the original “patria” track, I liked the moody treatment there. In case you are curious and want to download the original song, here is the link:

http://www.faircopy.com/act...

saludos!
Vate
 
.
permalink   fourstones Thu, Sep 15, 2005 @ 7:00 AM
vate: thanks for the nice words but more for putting the great samples into the Commons.
deutscheunschuld
.
permalink   Sun, Aug 7, 2005 @ 2:24 PM
that was 4 minutes? ohhhh….thought it would start..the beat or something…..well……still great!
gurdonark
.
permalink   Tue, Aug 9, 2005 @ 7:41 AM
The intro is very strong and effective. I like the resonance of the instruments, and the keyboard simple pattern mixed down. I like the way that you integrate things well back into the mix, like whispered imaginings.
Still, I wanted a trace more of the vocals to be prominent than the mix permitted. The instruments interplay very well on this one, a natural, organic suitably ambient mix.

Although repetition is certainly no sin in this type of music, I wanted a bit more melody to accompany the vocals after the first pass or two. Each time the little backing keyboard appears, it is a welcome addition.

The wash of sound in the key electronica flourish is so appealing. This is very strong work—and instructive. Thanks.
creativelycommon
.
permalink   Tue, Aug 9, 2005 @ 1:18 PM
i’d wager this not only to be ‘enoesque’ but possibly passable as authentic and genuine. way to go

i’m inspired baby :D
Ran Dumb Dots...... .. .
.
permalink   Wed, Aug 10, 2005 @ 4:40 PM
finally in the right frame to really take this one in….wow!….it’s beautiful work….the sounds together really create a sonic "place" for me….guess that’s kinda the idea with ambient….between this track and Cezary’s, I have NO idea what to expect next if I’m fortunate enough to be sampled again….I plan to be equally unpredictable….next upload might be something with lots of harmonic layers…also considering doing a human drum set sample zip - I’ve always had fun making sounds with my voice….interesting how the works incorporating samples of my work can influence what I do next…thanks for using my pella….. .. .
J.Lang
.
permalink   Tue, Aug 16, 2005 @ 5:08 AM
It took me a bit to really appreciate this track. Deep and very relaxing. Very big 5
teru
.
permalink   Tue, Aug 16, 2005 @ 9:50 AM
Yeah. This one’s special.
Analog By Nature
.
permalink   Wed, Aug 17, 2005 @ 1:23 PM
i literally felt myself swaying back and forth to the melody…. pulls you in, thats for sure, could have used a beat, mabey even a filter beat,
bu you know me.. i’m a sucker for a good beat…
great mix
DeBenedictis
.
permalink   Fri, Aug 19, 2005 @ 5:20 PM
Whoa, I didn’t know you did ambient. You do it right, too.

:)