COVID-19 & Us Universe Secret Mixter
skip
Home » People » fourstones » Cactus Swell » Reviews

Reviews for "Cactus Swell"

Cactus Swell
by fourstones
Recommends (24)
Tue, Aug 25, 2009 @ 12:22 AM

Samples are used in:

 
spinmeister
.
permalink   Tue, Aug 25, 2009 @ 12:39 AM
holy f#$% - what’s in that mbp of yours? Performance enhancing microchips? It clearly agrees with your music making! Love the hints of abbey road in the elektro minimalist epic. Great vox treatment, too. An instant favorite of mine!
Mana Junkie
.
permalink   Tue, Aug 25, 2009 @ 1:01 AM
now this is just a freakin’ cool mix here!
SackJo22
.
permalink   Tue, Aug 25, 2009 @ 1:42 AM
You are a genius, really. Just let it in.
artemisstrong
.
permalink   Tue, Aug 25, 2009 @ 2:28 AM
Smoooooooth. Always a fan of the tasteful ways you create music.

This is mos def a song to make sweet, sweet love to.
Snowflake
.
permalink   Tue, Aug 25, 2009 @ 9:31 AM
damn, you made me cry.

i love how you combined these three tracks…and how you chopped the poem, giving it renewed meaning.

and the bass, oh the bass (the sexiest of instruments….)

beautiful. thank you!
 
.
permalink   fourstones Tue, Aug 25, 2009 @ 9:51 AM
Phew! I’m just glad you like it. The vocal performances are just so awesome, I Ioved working with them. There’s another variation coming…
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Tue, Aug 25, 2009 @ 2:36 PM
wow. i get two????? i’m not worthy!!!
J.Lang
.
permalink   Tue, Aug 25, 2009 @ 9:54 AM
Your combinations of sounds, your mix & Snowflake……PERFECT.
ditto ditto
.
permalink   Tue, Aug 25, 2009 @ 11:17 AM
And one more time, i’m so impressed by your way play with the notes and the harmonys in the same time, but you always let the place to the voice.
Your bass parts are great..and you too..
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Tue, Aug 25, 2009 @ 11:21 AM
You made some inspired decisions in the chord path of this and the choices really connect with the vocal, something you know i am particular about.

Its that good that if didnt know it i would say you were European.
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Tue, Aug 25, 2009 @ 4:51 PM
I also should add the good work you have done with the vocal FX /dry mix and equing your delays off, makes a big differnce to that vocal placement.
 
.
permalink   fourstones Wed, Aug 26, 2009 @ 10:00 AM
thanks man - I got Echo Boy from SoundToys a few months ago and it’s quite the set of tools - I’m still learning my way through it - there’s a few dozen automatable (word?) settings, a few of which I automated mightily on this track.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Wed, Aug 26, 2009 @ 1:19 AM
Quote: Loveshadowchord path … choices really connect with the vocal … something … i am particular about allow me to say “amen” to that! :-)
teru
.
permalink   Tue, Aug 25, 2009 @ 11:33 AM
This sounds too good. I call shenanigans.

Lets be honest. You, Snowflake and a team of studio engineers have been perfecting this track for many years and then once finished, conveniently arranged for Secret Mixter 6 to unpload this.

Unfairs I tells ya. ;)
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Tue, Aug 25, 2009 @ 2:36 PM
now there’s an idea….maybe we should start working on next year’s tomorrow ;)
spinningmerkaba
.
permalink   Tue, Aug 25, 2009 @ 11:51 AM
Masterful! Cactus Swell is a sound painting that glows with a radiance of talent combined with experience. What a pair!
Anchor
.
permalink   Tue, Aug 25, 2009 @ 11:52 AM
elegant and deeply delicious to listen to. Snowflake’s vocals make the whole offering a total organic whole.
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Tue, Aug 25, 2009 @ 1:29 PM
great vocal treatments and i love the chill backing you toss behind this. sultry and emotional and rich with feeling. and i love the lack of “big beats” to be replaced by subtle glitchy electronica. and the strings are gorgeously rendered.
timberman
.
permalink   Tue, Aug 25, 2009 @ 1:36 PM
What an extraordinary delicate, sensitive and warm mix. I’m frankly quite moved.
colab
.
permalink   Tue, Aug 25, 2009 @ 1:51 PM
Nice. Which is of course a most inadequate word to say that I like this a lot - all of it.

The production is very, very good - but the musical ideas driving this are the real star - beautiful harmonies that really support the vocals and create a seamless whole.

Yeah. I loves it.
TheJoe
.
permalink   Wed, Aug 26, 2009 @ 1:44 PM
I always try to write some decent reviews like most others here, but my english… .

And then I read another review and I say myself, that-s exactly what I wanted to say.

I just want to say that your remix is a very fine produced one (and so much more…)
Down With Ben
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 9, 2009 @ 9:46 PM
So the other day, I was playing the Cool Music Show on my ipod with the kids in the car (ages 6 and 8). This song comes up and before long they’re singing along with the chorus… don’t worry, so… Now, whenever they ride with me, they ask me to play that “cactus song.”

You’ve created a hit for the grown-ups and kids as well. Nicely done.