Beauty of Perspective Event
skip
Home » People » fourstones » Listen » Reviews

Reviews for "Listen"

Listen
by fourstones
Recommends (29)
Wed, Jul 15, 2009 @ 6:01 PM
 
Speck
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 15, 2009 @ 6:24 PM
Well, that sure is a nice one to just fall into, let wash over me with all it’s sultry uncertainty. A pleasantly unusual experimental chill. Very cool.
Calling Sister Midnight
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 15, 2009 @ 6:54 PM
Trippy. I Like the granulated sounds behind it all and I like the orchestral stab of the downward progression. Nice.
panu
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 16, 2009 @ 2:30 AM
just gorgeous! it stands out technically, too. what you mined from your programs is an inspiration. finally A++ on the chord chart & keeping Melody’s voice up front & jazzed.
DJ_Ruinsalot
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 16, 2009 @ 5:15 AM
This sounds great! I love when something has pieces from so many different places and winds up sounding like it was all meant to sound like this together in the first place!
Anchor
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 16, 2009 @ 5:32 AM
dramatic and effective - love the moody piano - a film-noirish quality.
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 16, 2009 @ 8:14 AM
I’ve fainted with pleasure this is so good (though have come round long enough to type this review). Absolutely brilliant! And CSM’s singing - whoops. I just fainted again.
wellman
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 16, 2009 @ 9:10 AM
Like the chill ambient created in this mix. Everything fits nicely in this! Congratulations!
SackJo22
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 16, 2009 @ 11:47 PM
This is indeed a very different type of mix for you and really fun to listen to! Loved the juxtaposition of the various sonic textures with Melody’s incredibly warm, earthy voice that is just so right on.
cdala
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 17, 2009 @ 11:43 PM
You really make me stop and listen to your mix followed times…
You know, when i recorded the piano,at the first i liked a little bit, but after a while, when i used in the mix of the Soldier(Vadim)…and i think…not bad …
Well, then comes you,put on this way, as if the piano track was born for this song. Well Done!!!
J.Lang
.
permalink   Sat, Jul 18, 2009 @ 5:30 AM
Sounds as if the singer sang to this track.
Everything fits nicely into it’s own little space.
Very IMPRESSIVE.
radiotimes
.
permalink   Sat, Jul 18, 2009 @ 6:20 PM
It’s hard to believe this is a Fourstones track!!

Very imaginative and creative and deserving of the ed pick.

Welcome to the world of alternative music:O)
duckett
.
permalink   Sat, Jul 18, 2009 @ 9:41 PM
Late to the party on this one; but I like the way such different textures are used and shift around within a typically clean and open “fourstones sound”, but nothing feels forced or inappropriate. Mood-tastic!
ditto ditto
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 19, 2009 @ 3:11 AM
Atmosphere, arrangements, harmonys..everything sounds absolutely perfect..This is very original..master of science..
gurdonark
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 19, 2009 @ 6:35 AM
That’s cool that you got that vocoder trick to work. I don’t use ableton, but I’ve had less success doing it with other software. It really works here.

The richness of this arrangement really works very well—the sweep of some of the backing stays in the ring punching with that great vocal.

I like those soft percussion touches—sometimes understatement is the real statement.

A really satisfying, professional-sounding mix.

The keys that come in just before the extro are just right.


Great mix,Victor.