Beauty of Perspective Event
skip
Home » People » fourstones » Hustlin Angels » Reviews

Reviews for "Hustlin Angels"

Hustlin Angels
by fourstones
Recommends (8)
Sun, May 29, 2005 @ 7:07 AM
 
Pat Chilla The Beat Gorilla
.
permalink   Sun, May 29, 2005 @ 7:58 AM
Man, I can tell this is a rush job. You’ve always synced up pellas really well. Having said that, this track is really sweet. I’m not educated enough about theory to technically describe what I like about this, but suffice it to say that the chord movement in this song has that sound I’ve loved my entire life. Especially when the "So many ways…" part starts. Its a real moody (dare I say angelic) and emotional sound. Almost sounds Jamiroquai inspired or a Brit R&B twist. I really love this track.
 
.
permalink   fourstones Sun, May 29, 2005 @ 9:59 AM
yea I posted when I had to go to sleep, not when it was done.

So now it’s done, (I replaced the MP3) hopefully the drums and vocals line up a little better now and the clinker notes are gone. If you get a chance give another listen.

The chord progression in the chorus is

Dmaj7 Dmin7/G Cmaj7 Gmaj7

That second chord is a Dmin7 with G in the bass.

under the rap I’m just riffing on Gmin7

and yes, Rhodes+Mini Moog Bass+4 part chords = Stevie - Africa = fourstones / Jamiroquai
 
.
permalink   fourstones Sun, May 29, 2005 @ 10:16 AM
(it’s been driving me nuts what that chord progression is from but I got it:

its Aretha’s "Until You Come Back To Me (That’s What I’m Gonna Do)" go ahead sing along at 20 seconds into the song… "Though you don’t call anymore, I sit and wait…")
 
.
permalink   Pat Chilla The Beat Gorilla Sun, May 29, 2005 @ 11:04 AM
Quote: go ahead sing along at 20 seconds into the song… "Though you don’t call anymore, I sit and wait…")

Yeah, you’re absolutely right!!! That’s pretty funny, the whole "nothing new under the sun" aspect of modern music, yet its not plagiarization. My official rating for this piece is 5 stars. Please change accordingly : BTW, thanks for the lesson.
J.Lang
.
permalink   Mon, May 30, 2005 @ 4:05 AM
The keys and the drum track in the beginging of this song reminds me of a song called Back together again by Roberta Flack and Donny Hathaway. Musically i love this song as it was said it has a very strong Stevie-Jamirquai feel to it. I love the mix of the two songs, very cool. My only problem was that i felt that the song was out of sync towards the end. Other than that i thought the track was very good.
 
.
permalink   fourstones Mon, May 30, 2005 @ 11:27 AM
Quote: My only problem was that i felt that the song was out of sync towards the end.

ugh. I can’t believe I can’t hear it. I dont’ want to trouble you but if you point to a time in the song where it comes off the rails I would appreciate it, I really like this mix and I’d like to fix it if it’s broken.
 
.
permalink   Pat Chilla The Beat Gorilla Mon, May 30, 2005 @ 6:17 PM
Quote: if you point to a time in the song where it comes off the rails I would appreciate it.
It could use the slightest of nudges around 3:35 "so much **** goin’ on I couldn’t help being strapped". It sounds to be just a tad ahead of the beat. BTW, my final tempo was 98.250 from the Reason sequencer. After listening quite a few times, I doubt that the part in question is ahead by .250. Probably around .100-.125.
 
.
permalink   J.Lang Mon, May 30, 2005 @ 6:53 PM
I’m guessing that you went in and fixed it or my medication wasn’t strong enough when i first heard it. I hope you went in and fixed it cause if u didn’t i’ll have to call my doctor and up my dose. Sounds great now.
 
.
permalink   fourstones Mon, May 30, 2005 @ 7:02 PM
pat and lang, thanks for helping me out with this one.

lang, I fixed the part Pat mentioned it but I haven’t uploaded it yet (!) so your medication is stronger than you realize (in which case you really should be thinking about your new buddies on Mixter…. I’m just sayin…. we got you to upload these great pells, now comes phase II…)

pat I had to stretch the whole thing to 96 to sync with other vocal track so the whole thing got tweaked (hence the sloppy first upload)
 
.
permalink   J.Lang Mon, May 30, 2005 @ 7:19 PM
Victor I’ll share my music and on a good night u can have one of my girls, but my meds…….let’s keep it real my brother…Looking forward to hearing the mix.
teru
.
permalink   Sun, May 29, 2005 @ 1:50 PM
Sweet! Wicked idea of combining the two different vocals sample sets. I hear a lot of California influence in you (and Pat) lately. Love it, love it, love it.

BTW- ‘Rhodes+Mini Moog Bass+4 part chords = Stevie - Africa = fourstones / Jamiroquai’

I can’t believe that makes sense to me. Disturbing. : )
deadpan
.
permalink   Tue, May 31, 2005 @ 4:43 AM
meds?….you guys got meds?

Southbound Cinema
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 20, 2005 @ 10:11 PM
When I want to point out why CC Mixter is such an amazing idea, I’ll just play this song (and its source tracks, of course). You badasses need to stop raising the bar so damn high! Very, very cool treatment of two already great songs. THIS is what I’m shooting for…in my own sick way.