ccMixter call for Developers
skip
Home » People » fourstones » No Sound » Reviews

Reviews for "No Sound"

No Sound
by fourstones
Recommends (7)
Mon, Feb 11, 2008 @ 7:59 PM
 
ztutz
.
permalink   Mon, Feb 11, 2008 @ 10:23 PM
What a fantastic combination - whatever you heard that made you match the vocals to those synth samples is inspired.

I’ve been wondering whether anyone would want to take on such a chromatic and pitchy vocal track.

Thanks! I’m guess that I’m just reduced to being a blubbering fanboy.
duckett
.
permalink   Mon, Feb 11, 2008 @ 10:57 PM
Love the bass, and the sheer clarity/separation sensibility evident. I couldn’t help but think to myself, “this sort of approach to production was what made NCP (No Commercial Potential, an old college radio show in Boston) worth listening to.” No matter how seemingly abstruse the material, the cinematic level of attention to production keeps you listening, just to find out “what happens next”; by the end, you’re glad you never changed the dial after all. Everything just keeps relentlessly fitting. Until I read the “FL granulizer” comment, I was thinking a watchful finger on an analog knob was the cause of what I was hearing.
I hate to get all gushy over a fourstones track- he gets enough love as it is- but I’d be being dishonest if I didn’t admit this track grabbed my attention, and held it tight the whole way through. Durn it, ya just had ta go and show the kiddies how it’s done, didn’t ya? ;)
 
.
permalink   fourstones Mon, Feb 11, 2008 @ 11:19 PM
well, I wrote up the performance process part here, well see if I can earn back some cred.

Thanks for the review, now that the new site is up and things are settling down I hope I can get back to being a regular ol’ ccM mixter/reviewer guy and catch up on yours and others’ tracks.
 
.
permalink   duckett Mon, Feb 11, 2008 @ 11:59 PM
HAH! I knew I smelled manual control in there somewhere… more props to ya!
 
.
permalink   fourstones Tue, Feb 12, 2008 @ 12:56 AM
tada ;) cool, thanks again for all the support.
panu
.
permalink   Fri, Feb 13, 2009 @ 1:26 AM
um, is this gonna be on the test? (jes kiddin’.) i’m keyin’ on the vocal treatment here. it’s built up & processed perfectly to hold its own against the BT. gorgeous track w/ enough room to drive an 18 wheeler through.
Under74
.
permalink   Fri, May 19, 2017 @ 8:44 AM
Very interesting composition/Thank you!