Secretly Mixing! Snow & Sleet
skip

Reviews for "Day at the Race"

Abstract Audio
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 2:02 AM
I like those Aaah-intro’s espacially mixed with this piano loop. I like the funky stuff that follows. You have put in quite a number of suprices and style switches but somehow it all works.
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 6:02 AM
Thanks for listening and commenting, AA
debbizo
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 2:10 AM
Oooh, very creative! I like the way your intro resolves into the piano piece…and the cars/bikes..returning to the intro piano at the end!
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 6:00 AM
Thanks, Deb. Using the piano intro/outro as sunrise and sunset at the race.
unreal_dm
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 5:03 AM
Great track - superbly put together
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 5:57 AM
Thanks much, DM
Songboy3
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 6:14 AM
So so tight! A Sunday Morning groove I can roll with! This is hot! Great job!
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 6:25 AM
Thanks, Frank
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 7:40 AM
I love everything about this, from the soaring cries, to the syncopated super-timed piano arpeggios, the racecars that seem to be swept up in a storm, the cool breaks, bits of organ. Didn’t notice any Elron, but there are so many sounds, I expect that’s just my inattentiveness. :)

I like that it ends on poignant fragile acoustic piano, all on its own.
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 12:02 PM
Thanks for the review, AB.

ElRon is playing a Roland VG-8 synthesizer using a Strat. He’s playing the synth lead line. He’ll probably like the fact that he didn’t stand out as the guitar guy.
timberman
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 8:59 AM
Dear Galveston county’s finest, this is absolutely fantastic. Playful, joyful, beautiful and completely original. There’s material for at least ten song ideas in this piece. Must have been extremely fun to make.
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 12:03 PM
Thanks, Per. Yes it was fun to make.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 3:34 PM
If this track does not belong in a soundtrack then there should be no music ever in film. What a fantastic, dynamic piece of work that suggests and supports many images. Bravo!!!!
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 4:06 PM
Thanks, Susan. Appreciate ya.
Snowflake
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 6:24 PM
somehow i missed this track earlier today. this is really excellent! the perfect blend of DoKashiteru & texasradiofish. your song arrangement, development, editing and treatment is well crafted, polished and perfected. very nice mix!
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 6:40 PM
Thanks for listening and review, Emily. DoKashiteru’s samples are well done and easy to use as building blocks.
VickyDan
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 1:44 AM
Toujours dans l’excellence …. Hum! Excuse me …. always in Excellence
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 2:01 AM
Nous vous remercions de l’ecoute de notre musique, Vicky.
DoKashiteru
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 5:25 AM
niiiiiice! I really like what you’ve done here - very creative & very well put together. Thank you!
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Tue, Nov 9, 2010 @ 12:46 AM
You are quite welcome.

You provided more than enough samples to assemble a construction kit for the project. Then it was just a matter of having some fun.
J.Lang
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 6:12 AM
Absoulutly love that piano intro with the ahhhhhs.
Then that bass comes in and ride begins.
Excellent mix !!
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Tue, Nov 9, 2010 @ 12:47 AM
Thanks for taking and reviewing the ride, J
colab
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 6:59 AM
Nice stroll through DoKa land where each booth or ride offers a different experience. :)

 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Tue, Nov 9, 2010 @ 12:48 AM
Thanks for commenting on the stroll, C. Appreciate ya.