Dig The Soundtrack 2017 Remix Event
skip

Reviews for "James Brown d'funk (Lets go, Bounce)"

error404
.
permalink   Sat, Apr 24, 2010 @ 4:29 AM
Juuujj who do so do not start dancing to the music …
The rest of his life not to take ..

Bone-FUNK very good congrats
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Sat, Apr 24, 2010 @ 5:52 AM
Thank you for listening … and dancing, error404.
panu
.
permalink   Sat, Apr 24, 2010 @ 4:45 AM
somebody hep me, get back, where my cape at?, unhhhhh, dat’s right. great fun, period perfect FUNK & MO Funk.
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Sat, Apr 24, 2010 @ 5:50 AM
Glad you like it, Panu.
copperhead
.
permalink   Sat, Apr 24, 2010 @ 5:32 AM
OK! You are the official funkmaster. :) It blows my mind how you can make a remix of so many people in the same track. Just an incredible groove. If I heard this on the radio I seriously would have said it was JB.
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Sat, Apr 24, 2010 @ 5:48 AM
Thanks, Copperhead. Sometimes we just have to funk it.

As Panu pointed out, this is a period piece with a few modern sounds included. Always wanted to play Tower of Power and James Brown tunes on stage but never worked in bands that played those grooves and had the horn section. In my project studio, we are able to create some original grooves to make up for lost funk.
timberman
.
permalink   Sat, Apr 24, 2010 @ 7:23 AM
More Parliament than James Brown in my ears. Regardless of the references, a great great funk track.
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Sat, Apr 24, 2010 @ 8:48 AM
I agree with St. Paul. It leans toward the Parliment side of funk, with the distorted guitar and wot not. I needed some good ol’ funk to get my booty out of the chair. Super-tight track. Love it!
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Sat, Apr 24, 2010 @ 8:50 AM
Whoops…. I meant that as a review, not a response to St. Paul per se.
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Sat, Apr 24, 2010 @ 3:53 PM
Thanks for listening, FB.

I am not as familiar with P’funk and George Clinton as I am with Tower of Power and EWF. However, if the music sounds like Parliament, then great. They be funky.

I was seeking to create a cross between Tower of Power like funk with some James Brown-like shouts/funk guitar, and some original funk rhythms and breaks. Wrt the distorted guitar passage that’s a trance rhythm to break up the funk.
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Sat, Apr 24, 2010 @ 3:40 PM
Good point. I agree that the music doesn’t emulate James Brown music. It is a take off on the notion behind the Tower of Power song “Still Diggin on James Brown”

Glad you like it, St Paul.
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Sat, Apr 24, 2010 @ 9:19 AM
I love this old skool style funk. I don’t know where you’ve sourced your pallet of samples/sounds from but they all sounds great and blend together smoothly. The skippy around of underlying rhythm styles is a good idea too.
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Sat, Apr 24, 2010 @ 4:19 PM
Thanks, Scott.

Sound pallet: Besides the 16 sound sources listed and tracks we recorded ourselves, there are another dozen or more samples/loops used that don’t require attribution. Created some loops/beats myself and was able to find some great royalty free funk loops on the Internet. Didn’t find any suitable, free and legal James Brown loops, however.
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Sat, Apr 24, 2010 @ 4:58 PM
ElRon thinks the funkiest passage is the two bar break using Fourstone’s samples with Slumberlords’ synth, J Lang’s “yeah” and a beat box loop.
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Sat, Apr 24, 2010 @ 4:27 PM
Ya got it goin on little skeleton guitarist man. !
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Sat, Apr 24, 2010 @ 4:53 PM
Thanks, Loveshadow.
Zapac
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 25, 2010 @ 11:32 AM
Oh, man! It’s fantastic! Great idea, perfect realization. I’m impressed. Congratulations!
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Sun, Apr 25, 2010 @ 12:22 PM
Thanks, Z
J.Lang
.
permalink   Mon, Apr 26, 2010 @ 6:25 AM
Sorry i’m late to the party, but glad i came.
Makes me want to get and dance wit my bad self.
Really feeling that James Brown/ Tower of Power groove.
Glad Ed Picked it, well deserved.
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Mon, Apr 26, 2010 @ 6:41 AM
Thanks, J. Glad you like the mix.
Budapest BluesBoy
.
permalink   Tue, Apr 27, 2010 @ 2:47 AM
YEEEEEEEEEAAAAH BRO!
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Tue, Apr 27, 2010 @ 4:08 AM
Thanks for listening, hepepe.hu
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Sat, May 1, 2010 @ 4:22 AM
It’s taking me a while to get around to listening to the goodies I missed while I was on holiday in LA (showing off again). No wonder Sack chose this as her Ed Pick. It’s f***ing brilliant!
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Sat, May 1, 2010 @ 3:01 PM
Thanks for listening and reviewing, Ciggi.