skip
Home » People » HEJ31 » Harmony and Noise » Reviews

Reviews for "Harmony and Noise"

Harmony and Noise
by HEJ31
Recommends (20)
Sun, Feb 19, 2012 @ 11:24 AM

Samples are used in:

 
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sun, Feb 19, 2012 @ 11:32 AM
This turned out great Haskel! Great use of ambiance and guitar to accentuate the lyrics and themes of Porchcat’s spoken word. And your twangy guitar is my favorite of all twangy guitar in the whole world! ;)
 
.
permalink   HEJ31 Tue, Feb 21, 2012 @ 7:48 PM
Thanks. I don’t know why, but the twang seems to be disproportionally represented in my ccmixter stuff, compared to my daily life.
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Sun, Feb 19, 2012 @ 11:39 AM
The change in vocal effects helps to achieve the patchwork quilt effect, turning your audio poem into a remix-sounding thing of its own…. and the combination of surf-clean single coils and crunchy bass and humbuckers seals the effect.

This was a great listen, even as it taught me a little about our own CCMixter culture!
 
.
permalink   HEJ31 Tue, Feb 21, 2012 @ 7:45 PM
Thanks. I originally thought I’d lay on an even more distorted guitar, but turning up the volumne and getting the right amount of feedback noise took too much work, for the state I was in. But I thing the clean sound worked.
 
.
permalink   HEJ31 Tue, Feb 21, 2012 @ 7:46 PM
“even as it taught me a little about our own CCMixter culture!”

Not sure what you mean, exactly.
onlymeith
.
permalink   Sun, Feb 19, 2012 @ 12:32 PM
Prog mix at times. Very imaginative set.
 
.
permalink   HEJ31 Tue, Feb 21, 2012 @ 7:49 PM
Thanks. Prog is one of my dirty little secrets.
Kara Square
.
permalink   Sun, Feb 19, 2012 @ 5:38 PM
Oooo… artsy… moving… love the ringing guitars… drums- yeah… And where it gets a bit heavier- so cool. This is great, Haskel.
 
.
permalink   HEJ31 Tue, Feb 21, 2012 @ 7:50 PM
Thanks so much, Mindmap.
Snowflake
.
permalink   Sun, Feb 19, 2012 @ 6:39 PM
impressive use of a wide spectrum of PorchCat. you’ve built a cohesive soundscape around one of my fav spoken word’s on the site — you are really tearing it up Haskel!!
 
.
permalink   HEJ31 Tue, Feb 21, 2012 @ 7:51 PM
Thanks. There was a lotta shit to work with.
Jeris
.
permalink   Mon, Feb 20, 2012 @ 4:29 AM
Man this track totally possessed me. Intriguing mix, also an excellent spoken word.
 
.
permalink   HEJ31 Tue, Feb 21, 2012 @ 7:52 PM
Appreciate hearing from you Jeris. Thanks.
Speck
.
permalink   Mon, Feb 20, 2012 @ 4:40 AM
Fittingly out there. Then almost in. Then gone. Enjoyed the trip.
 
.
permalink   HEJ31 Tue, Feb 21, 2012 @ 7:53 PM
Glad to hear that. Appreciate it.
CSoul
.
permalink   Mon, Feb 20, 2012 @ 10:56 AM
An artistic deep voyage and progressive soundscape.
peace
 
.
permalink   HEJ31 Tue, Feb 21, 2012 @ 7:54 PM
Thank you Csoul brother.
colab
.
permalink   Mon, Feb 20, 2012 @ 10:58 AM
I’ve tried to come up with a clever review for a while now, but have failed miserably. But I didn’t want to leave without leaving some sort of comment, so here goes:

I like.

(Oh, and also maybe this: stems? Please?)
 
.
permalink   HEJ31 Tue, Feb 21, 2012 @ 7:43 PM
Stems uploaded.
I often find it hard to come up with clever reviews. I try. I get frustrated. Then I say nothing and people probably think I don’t care. So “like” is good.