Reviews = Swag!
skip

Reviews for "The Queen of Wands Orchestral Remix"

The Queen of Wands Orchestral...
by davemerrick
Recommends (11)
Thu, May 18, 2017 @ 5:40 PM

Uses samples from:

 
Quarkstar
.
permalink   Fri, May 19, 2017 @ 8:49 AM
Shades of Ennio Morricone?
Very good.
 
.
permalink   davemerrick Fri, May 19, 2017 @ 10:12 AM
Quote: QuarkstarShades of Ennio Morricone?
Very good.

Thank you!
I can see how you’d hear that, with the march-type cadence under the strings. Although, I really didn’t think of his work when I did it. Perhaps an influence I didn’t know was there. In any event, to be mentioned in the same sentence with his name is very generous.

I’ve always associated Ennio with using modern rhythm instruments and modern elements mixed with traditional orchestra. It might be interesting to try something like that on a future project.
 
.
permalink   Quarkstar Sun, May 21, 2017 @ 6:50 AM
I was thinking of a few things, first the orchestral arrangement which starts at the beginning and the counterpoint of strings and horns. Then the first vocals sound like a Morricone theme.
The denial of a key change at the beginning to build up tension and using textures instead to create change.Then when the winds come in was another moment.
Siobhan Dakay
.
permalink   Sat, May 20, 2017 @ 2:19 PM
Wow….you made Susan sound like Kate Bush.
What an orchestra setup. Very very cool.
 
.
permalink   davemerrick Sat, May 20, 2017 @ 4:15 PM
Thank you very much!
I’m glad you liked it! :)
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sun, May 21, 2017 @ 9:30 PM
Your orchestration is magnificent! Thank you so much for including me, and spending the time with my vocal that you did. Your effort really shows. I wish I was a better singer. I encourage you to find somebody who can really sing and have them redo the vocals — at least in the beginning — I think that would take this to the next level.
Alex White
.
permalink   Tue, May 30, 2017 @ 12:05 PM
Beautiful. You capture the feeling of “queen” so well with the march-style snare and massive string chords. Great job!